Arizona Basketball

Arizona Wildcats’ Pac-10/12 honorees in banner form


[slideshow_deploy id=’17326′]

The selections of Sean Miller as Pac-12 Coach of the Year and Nick Johnson as Player of the Year today add to the legacy of Wildcats who have achieved the highest honor in the conference (as seen in the accompanying banner slideshow).

It is Miller’s second coach of the year selection with Arizona. The rest of the honors are grouped by the lucky number 7:

— Johnson becomes the seventh different Arizona player to be chosen either a Pac-10 or Pac-12 player of the year and the eighth overall, which leads the conference since the Wildcats joined in 1978-79. Sean Elliott was a two-time selection in 1987-88 and 1988-89.

— Arizona freshman Aaron Gordon becomes the seventh freshman of the year selection for Arizona and the second for Miller, who featured the best freshman (Derrick Williams) in his first season in Tucson in 2009-10.

Lute Olson captured seven Pac-10 coach of the year selections. Olson and Miller are two of only six head coaches with multiple coach of the year honors since the 1978-79. The other four are Mike Montgomery (four), George Raveling (two), Lorenzo Romar (two) and Ralph Miller (two). publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He also writes articles for Bleacher Report and Lindy’s College Sports.


To Top