Arizona Basketball

Nick Johnson close to becoming Arizona Wildcats’ first consensus All-American since 1999


Nick Johnson is close to becoming Arizona's first consensus All-American since Jason Terry in 1999

Nick Johnson is close to becoming Arizona’s first consensus All-American since Jason Terry in 1999 (YouTube video capture

Arizona junior guard Nick Johnson was selected this morning as a National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) first-team All-American, giving him the third such honor this season.

Johnson, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, has also been chosen a first-team All-American by the Sporting News and the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The NABC, Sporting News and USBWA are three of the four NCAA-recognized All-American teams to earn consensus All-American status. The fourth, the Associated Press, will announce its first team on Monday.

The last Arizona consensus All-American was guard Jason Terry in 1999. According to the NCAA, Arizona has five consensus All-Americans, including Terry. The others are Sean Elliott (1987-88 and 1988-89), Damon Stoudamire (1994-95), Mike Bibby (1997-98) and Miles Simon (1997-98).

The NCAA’s official terminology concerning consensus All-American status: To earn “consensus” status, a player must win honors based on a point system computed from the four different All-America teams. The point system consists of three points for first team, two points for second team and one point for third team. No honorable mention or fourth team or lower are used in the computation. The top five totals plus ties are first team and the next five plus ties are second team.

There is no reason to believe that Johnson will at least get a second-team nod by the AP on Monday. Last season, four players swept first-team honors by all four All-America teams. Only one — Creighton’s Doug McDermott — had three first-team honors and one second-team selection. He still had enough points to become a consensus All-American.

Presently, Johnson, McDermott and Duke freshman Jabari Parker are the only players to consistently make the first-team lists for Sporting News, NABC and USBWA.

[ezcol_1half id=”” class=”” style=””]

[table “” not found /]

[table “” not found /]

[table “” not found /]


[ezcol_1half_end id=”” class=”” style=””]

[/ezcol_1half_end] publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He also writes articles for Bleacher Report and Lindy’s College Sports.


To Top