WRESTLING: Roman Bravo-Young now 5th on consecutive win list

Roman Bravo-Young (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

Jacob Swift of Deer Valley and Wayne McMinn of Apache Junction are the only four-time undefeated state champions from Arizona. Sunnyside junior Roman Bravo-Young is 32 wins away from former Safford standout Ryak Finch for third all-time on the Consecutive Wins in a Career list. McClintock junior Marco Groves is a bit closer to the top with 141 consecutive wins.

Former Empire wrestler Mito Mendivil finished his career with 207 wins, putting him fifth on the all-time wins list.

179: Jacob Swift, Deer Valley (2013-16) 4 Championships*
178: Waldo Gutierrez, Morenci (2000-03) 4 Championships
162: Ryak Finch, Safford (2007-10) 3 Championships
141: Marco Groves, McClintock (2015-17) 3 Championships
130: Roman Bravo-Young, Sunnyside (2015-17) 3 Championships
128: Angel Cejudo, Maryvale (2001-04) 4 Championships
121: Aaron Simpson, Antelope (1990-93) 4 Championships
118: Wayne McMinn, Apache Junction (1985-88) 4 Championships*
116: Danny Vega, Ironwood Ridge (2014-16) 3 Championships

253: Eric Garcia, Coolidge (2004-07)
250: Aaron Garcia, Coolidge (2005-08
227: Carlos Villa , Maricopa (2003-06)
209: Trey Andrews, Safford (2009-12)
207: Mito Mendivil, Empire (2008-11)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at AMoralesMyTucson@yahoo.com

To Top