Arizona Basketball

Markkanen not named a Wooden Award All-American

So, Lauri Markkanen’s remarkable season wasn’t good enough to become an All-American.

He was among the top 25 college basketball players listed on those to be voted on but he didn’t make the top 10.

Lauri Markkanen talks to reporters.

The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced the 2017 John R. Wooden Award® Presented By Wendy’s® All American Team.

The ten-player team, alphabetically, consists of: Lonzo Ball (UCLA), Dillon Brooks (Oregon), Josh Hart (Villanova), Josh Jackson (Kansas), Justin Jackson (North Carolina), Luke Kennard (Duke), Frank Mason III (Kansas), Malik Monk (Kentucky), Caleb Swanigan (Purdue), and Nigel Williams-Goss (Gonzaga).

The five players who are invited to Los Angeles for the Wooden Award™ presentation during the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s® are Ball, Hart, Mason III, Swanigan, and Williams-Goss.

Oddly or not, Ball is among the top five yet he wasn’t named the player of the year in the conference.

To Top