Jeff Scurran Informs His Catalina Foothills Players He’s Stepping Away from Coaching

Jeff Scurran talks things over with Arizona QB Rhett Rodriguez during the 2016 4A State Championship Game. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

In what was an openly quiet secret for several weeks, Catalina Foothills head coach Jeff Scurran informed his players Monday night that he is stepping away from Catalina Foothills after this season. With 306 career wins, he might just need one more win to get to another postseason.

Ranked No. 19 prior to a 42-14 loss at No. 1 Salpointe (9-0), Catalina Foothills is sitting at 4-5 and the Falcons will be watching the weekly AIA power-rankings closely. The rankings are set to be released Tuesday morning and No. 7 Sahuaro (7-2) will visit Catalina Foothills this Friday night. A win over the Cougars could mean an at-large berth to the 4A state playoffs.

Even then, there are two teams currently ranked outside of the top 16 that have a realistic shot at winning their respective regions which means team hoping for an at-large berth will have to finish in the top 14.

Scurran’s QB at Catalina Foothills, current Arizona sophomore Rhett Rodriguez, finished his career under Scurran as the leading passer in Southern Arizona history:

Rhett Rodriguez, Catalina Foothills 8,694 (2013-16)
Andrew Cota, Sunnyside/Salpointe, 7,554 (2010-13)
Reggie Robertson, Sahuaro 7,106 (1996-99)
Trenton Bourguet, Marana: 7,002 (2015-present)

Rhett Rodriguez four games into his freshman year at Catalina Foothills – Sept. 20, 2013. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)



In terms of “big-school” state championships, only Rollin T. Gridley has more than Scurran. Gridley earned five with Tucson High and Scurran finished with three at Sabino. Scurran’s teams have made eight championship appearances since 1990:

1990: 4A State Champion (Sabino)
1992: 4A State Champion (Sabino)
1997: 4A Runner-up (Sabino)
1998: 4A State Champion (Sabino)
1999: 5A Runner-up (Sabino)
2008: 4A-II Runner-up (Santa Rita)
2009: 4A-II Runner-up (Santa Rita)
2016: 4A Runner-up (Catalina Foothills)


(Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


Tucson High (14)
1912: (James Fred “Pop” McKale)
1929: (Charles McFarland)
1937: (Rollin T. Gridley)
1942: (Rollin T. Gridley)
1943: (Rollin T. Gridley)
1944: (Rollin T. Gridley)
1945: (Rollin T. Gridley)
1951: (Jason Greer)
1952: (Jason Greer)
1965: 5A (John Mallamo)
1966: 5A (John Mallamo)
1970: 5A (Ollie Mayfield)
1971: 5A (Ollie Mayfield)

St. David (8)
1960: 1A (Jim Crawford)
1972: 1A (Jim Crawford)
1977: 1A (Jim Crawford)
1979: 1A (Jim Crawford)
1997: 1A (John Bryant)
1998: 1A (John Bryant)
2000: 1A (John Bryant)
2001: 1A (John Bryant)

Santa Cruz (7)
1965: 3A (Lonnie Foster)
1966: 3A (Lonnie Foster)
1969: 3A (Lonnie Foster)
1978: 3A (Jay Denton)
1979: 3A (Eddie Jones)
1980: 3A (Jim Ewan)
1990: 2A (Jay Denton)

Canyon del Oro (3)
1976: 4A (Bob Smith)
1977: 4A (Bob Smith)
2009: 4A-I (Dusty Peace)

Marana (3)
1964: 2A (Duane Morrison)
1967: 2A (Don Hawkins)
1968: 2A (Don Hawkins)

Patagonia (3)
1987: 1A (Bill House)
1988: 1A (Bill House)
1991: 1A (Bill House)

Sabino (3)
1990: 4A (Jeff Scurran)
1992: 4A (Jeff Scurran)
1998: 4A (Jeff Scurran)

Valley Union (3)
1985: 1A (Gary Mauldin)
1986: 1A (Gary Mauldin)
2007: 1A (Tony Luzania)

Amphitheater (2)
1975: 5A (Jerry Loper)
1979: 5A (Vern Friedli)

Palo Verde (2)
1973: 5A (Van Howe)
2005: 4A-II (Todd Mayfield)

Sunnyside (2)
2001: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
2003: 4A (Richard Sanchez)

ASDB (Tucson Deaf and Blind) (1)
1976: 1A (John Milford)

Flowing Wells (1)
1975: 4A (Larry Hart)

Ironwood Ridge (1)
2012: D-II (Matt Johnson)

Mountain View (1)
1993: 4A (Wayne Jones)

Pueblo (1)
1961: 5A (Lou Farber)

Pusch Ridge (1)
2015: D-IV (Troy Cropp)

Sahuaro (1)
1994: 4A (Howard Breinig)

Salpointe (1)
2013: D-II (Dennis Bene)

San Manuel (1)
1981: 3A (Damon Becker)

Suffolk Hills (Immaculate Heart) (1)
1982: 1A (Steve Sorce)

Willcox (1)
1982: 2A (Paul Hanley)

Jeff Scurran with former Arizona line coach Jim Michalczik during a Rich Rodriguez high school camp. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at AMoralesMyTucson@yahoo.com


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top