Tucson High School Sports

Tennis: Catalina Foothills boys win 6th title in a row and 14th overall

Mason Lee (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

The top-seeded Catalina Foothills boys tennis team beat No. 2 Notre Dame Prep 5-3 Saturday afternoon at the Paseo Racquet Center in Glendale to win the sixth team title in a row for the Falcons and the 14th overall. In addition, the championship was the 106th victory in a row for the program.

Head coach Jeffrey Bloomberg is now 68-0 in his career with the Falcons. His four state championships puts him in the top 10 for Southern Arizona. Former Miami and Canyon del Oro head coach Jose Sanchez collected 11 titles between 1962-1977, former Rincon and Catalina Foothills coach Robb Salant had eight between 1989 and 2011 and current Salpointe head coach John Condes had six between 2004 and 2011. Si Ganem led Tucson to six titles between 1953 to 1959.

The Falcons say goodbye to senior Mason Lee but Bloomberg returns a loaded lineup including No. 2 Brendan Perry, No. 3 Anton Nazaroff, No. 4 Jeevaj Bondalapati, No. 5 Esteban Alavarez and No. 6 Krishna Dasika.


Tucson (16)
1916: 5A (Unknown)
1928: 5A (CL McFarland)
1938: 5A (Jason Greer)
1945: 5A (Jason Greer)
1946: 5A (Jason Greer)
1447: 5A (Jason Greer)
1948: 5A (Jason Greer)
1949: 5A (Bill Duffen)
1953: 5A (Si Ganem)
1954: 5A (Si Ganem)
1955: 5A (Si Ganem)
1959: 5A (Si Ganem)
1959: 5A (Si Ganem)
1959: 5A (Si Ganem)
1978: 5A (Ken Kissell)
1980: 5A (Ted Kissell)

Catalina Foothills (14)
1997: 4A (Robb Salant)
2005: 4A (Robb Salant)
2006: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2007: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2008: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2009: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2010: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2011: 4A-I (Robb Salant)
2014: D-II (Bill Wright)
2015: D-II (Bill Wright)
2016: D-II (Jeffrey Bloomberg)
2017: D-II (Jeffrey Bloomberg)
2018: D-II (Jeffrey Bloomberg)
2019: D-II (Jeffrey Bloomberg)

Gregory School (12)
1987: 1A/2A (Vinton Geistfeld)
1988: 1A/2A (Vinton Geistfeld)
1990: 1A/2A (David Blackwell)
1991: 1A/2A (Matt Moreno)
1993: 1A/2A (Trim Brown)
1997: 1A/2A (Tom Redman)
1998: 1A/2A (Dale Long)
2000: 1A/2A (Dale Long)
2008: 1A (Mark Swenson)
2009: 1A (Mark Swenson)
2010: 1A (Mark Swenson)
2011: 1A (Mark Swenson)

Canyon del Oro (10)
1967: 3A (Jose Sanchez)
1968: 3A (Jose Sanchez)
1969: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1972: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1973: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1974: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1975: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1976: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1977: 4A (Jose Sanchez)
1986: 5A (Mike Rowe)

Catalina (8)
1962: 5A (Keith Meenan)
1963: 5A (Keith Meenan)
1964: 5A (Keith Meenan)
1965: 5A (Ken Fones)
1966: 5A (Ken Fones)
1968: 5A (Ken Fones)
1969: 5A (Ken Fones)
1989: 5A (Gene Dineen)

Willcox (8)
1942: 1A/2A (Unknown)
1963: 1A/2A (Cecil Miller)
1964: 1A/2A (Cecil Miller)
1965: 1A/2A (Don Wagner)
1966: 1A/2A (Odis Williams)
1972: 3A (Richard Dullum)
1973: 3A (Richard Dullum)
1989: 1A/2A (Tom Davis)

Salpointe (7)
1972: 5A (Roland Kotwica)
2004: 5A (John Condes)
2005: 5A (John Condes)
2006: 5A-I (John Condes)
2007: 5A-I (John Condes)
2008: 5A-I (John Condes)
2011: 5A-I (John Condes)

Rincon (6)
1989: 4A (Robb Salant)
1996: 4A (Roland Kotwica)
1998: 4A (Roland Kotwica)
2002: 4A (Roland Kotwica)
2003: 4A (Roland Kotwica)
2004: 4A (Roland Kotwica)

Sahuarita (7)
1988: 3A (Pat Boyter)
1994: 3A (Paul Riley)
1997: 3A (Dee Christofers)
1998: 3A (Dee Christofers)
2002: 3A (Tina Cueto)
2006: 3A (Tina Cueto)
2007: 3A (Tina Cueto)

Ajo (5)
1938: 3A (Bill Olsen)
1939: 3A (Bill Olsen)
1940: 3A (Bill Olsen)
1941: 3A (Bill Olsen)
1942: 3A (Bill Olsen)

Bisbee (4)
1963: 3A (Fred Corrin)
1965: 3A (Fred Corrin)
1966: 3A (Fred Corrin)
1999: 3A (Bill Dennis)

Ironwood Ridge (4)
2008: 5A-II (Ryan Bais)
2009: 5A-II (Ryan Bais)
2012: D-II (Ryan Bais)
2013: D-II (Ryan Bais)

Nogales (4)
1939: 3A (Lon Bellman)
1941: 3A (Lon Bellman)
1978: 4A (Wayne Shelton)
1981: 4A (Unknown)

Pusch Ridge (3)
2011: 2A/3A (David Towne)
2013: D-III (David Towne)
2018: D-III (Andy Fetsis)

Tombstone (3)
1975: 1A/2A (Mike Roane)
1977: 1A/2A (Charles Smith)
1980: 1A/2A (Charles Smith)

1945: 3A (Unknown)

1925: 5A (Unknown)

Flowing Wells
1970: 4A (Walter Milligan)

Palo Verde
2009: 4A-II (Dan Ireland)

1979: 5A (Cliff Jewsbury)

Santa Cruz
2001: 3A (Paul Riley)

Santa Rita
1971: 4A (Kent Fisher)

Tanque Verde
2017: D-III (Collin Alexander)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com 

To Top