Tucson High School Sports

Salpointe wins 4A softball championship in extra innings

Salpointe (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


No. 1 Salpointe over No. 2 Cactus, 6-5 (8)

No. 3 Camp Verde over No. 1 Benson, 10-7

No. 2 Horizon over No. 1 Nogales, 7-6 (16)

Is it possible for history to repeat itself? I guess it depends on one’s point of view. For Salpointe, a 6-5 victory over Cactus Tuesday night at Hillenbrand Stadium on the University of Arizona campus gave the Lancers their second 4A state championship in a row over the Cobras. For Cactus, controversy once again came into play…..

Anjolee Aguilar Beaucage with sac fly RBI. @schssoftball_ wins it 6-5 pic.twitter.com/FBGIriKK89— Andy Morales (@AndyMorales8) May 15, 2019



Canyon del Oro (9)
1991: 5A (Kathy McQuown)
2001: 5A (Dee Dinota)
2005: 5A (Kelly Fowler)
2007: 4A-I (Amy Swiderski)
2008: 4A-I (Amy Swiderski)
2009: 4A-I (Amy Swiderski)
2011: 4A-I (Kelly Fowler)
2012: D-II (Stephanie Nicholson)
2017: 4A (Kelly Fowler)

@schssoftball_ head coach Amy Rocha another championship. Played for @CoachCandreaUA at @ArizonaSoftball pic.twitter.com/KXuTnPTOWf— Andy Morales (@AndyMorales8) May 15, 2019

San Manuel (9)
1977: 4A (Sheila Baize)
1979: 4A (Sheila Baize)
1980: 4A (Sheila Baize)
1981: 3A (Sheila Baize)
1982: 3A (Sheila Baize)
1990: 3A (Jeff Rupright)
1994: 3A (Jeff Rupright)
2013: D4 (Deanne Brewer)
2014: D4 (Deanne Brewer)

@schssoftball_ Alyssa Aguilar back to back champion pic.twitter.com/7nRtbeWUOZ— Andy Morales (@AndyMorales8) May 15, 2019

Sahuaro (8)
1984: 5A (Jim Higgins)
1985: 5A (Jim Higgins)
1988: 5A (Billy Lopez)
1989: 4A/5A (Billy Lopez)
1991: 5A (Billy Lopez)
1992: 4A (Billy Lopez)
1993: 4A (Billy Lopez)
2001: 4A (Billy Lopez)

Benson (5)
2006: 2A (Shad Housley)
2008: 2A (Shad Housley)
2011: 2A (Manny Ellsworth)
2017: 2A (Yogi Wilson)
2018: 2A (Yogi Wilson)

Santa Cruz (5)
1979: 3A (Rosie Starks)
1980: 3A (Rosie Starks)
2000: 3A (Ernie Montijo)
2006: 3A (Andrea Reyes)
2008: 3A (Andrea Reyes)

Cienega (4)
2010: 4A-I (Eric Tatham)
2015: D-II (Eric Tatham)
2017: 5A (Eric Tatham)
2018: 5A (Eric Tatham)

Flowing Wells (4)
1984: 4A (Debbie Cutrer)
1999: 5A (Armando Quiroz)
2000: 5A (Armando Quiroz)
2002: 5A (Armando Quiroz)

Salpointe (4)
1993: 5A (Stacy Hill Iveson)
1996: 5A (Phil Gruensfelder)
2018: 4A (Amy Baray Rocha)
2019: 4A (Amy Baray Rocha)

Ironwood Ridge (3)
2014: D-II (Rich Alday)
2016: D-II (Rich Alday)
2019: 5A (David Martinez)

Sabino (3)
1991: 4A (Bill Belt)
2005: 4A (Galen Paton)
2019: 3A (Chris Stainer)

Sahuarita (3)
1999: 3A (Chris Fanning)
2011: 4A-II (Chris Fanning)
2018: 3A (Chris Fanning)

Desert Christian (2)
1998: 1A (Bill Moten)
1999: 1A (Gerald Dawson)

Palo Verde Christian/Pusch Ridge (2)
1997: 1A (Tom Armour)
2012: D-IV (Bob Vance)

Pueblo (2)
1990: 4A (Lisa Pina)
2016: D-IV (Curtis Ruiz)

Empire (2)
2015: D-III (Shannon Woolridge)
2017: 3A (Shannon Woolridge)

Bowie/San Simon (1)
1990: 1A (Mike Peterson)

Catalina Foothills (1)
2016: D-III (Mark Stevens)

Desert View (1)
2000: 4A (Bert Otero)

Rincon (1)
2002: 4A (Russ Proctor)

Santa Rita (1)
1980: 5A (Jan Dunlap)

Sunnyside (1)
2007: 5A-II (Pete Palomarez)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top