Arizona Softball

Arizona Wildcats Softball All-Decade Team

The first and second teams and honorable mention selections of Arizona softball players in Mike Candrea’s program from 2010-19:

First Team


Danielle O’Toole (2016-17)

Danielle O’Toole (Arizona Athletics photo)

In 2017, named NFCA first-team All-American, Arizona’s first first-team All-American pitcher since Kenzie Fowler in 2010. Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, Arizona’s first to win the award since Alicia Hollowell in 2004. As senior in 2017, went 30-5 with a Pac-12-best 1.21 ERA and struck out 210 batters in 219.0 innings


Dejah Mulipola (2017-19)

Dejah Mulipola (Arizona Athletics photo)

In 2019, named Johnny Bench Catcher of the Year as well as NFCA Catcher of the Year as the nation’s top catcher. Became Arizona’s first first-team NFCA All-American catcher since 1998 (Leah Braatz). Also received All-America nods from Softball America (first-team) and Fastpitch News (honorable mention). A member of the U.S. Women’s National Team (2019).

First Baseman

Jessie Harper (2017-19)

Jessie Harper (Arizona Athletics photo)

Started career at first base. Two-time All-American, including 2017 first-teamer at first base. Led the NCAA in home runs in 2019 (28), the 10th Wildcat to lead the country in homers and first since 2009. Has finished first or second in the Pac-12 in home runs in all three seasons.

Second Baseman

Reyna Carranco (2017-19)

Reyna Carranco (Arizona Athletics photo)

In 2019, named second-team NFCA All-American, her first career All-America hono. Hit .433 in the regular season to become Arizona’s first Pac-12 batting champion. Ended the season with a team-best .416 average, becoming the first Wildcat to hit over .400 since 2014; her .416 average ranked second in the Pac-12 and 29th in the NCAA.

Third Baseman

Katiyana Mauga (2014-17)

Katiyana Mauga (Arizona Athletics photo)

Arizona and Pac-12 Career Home Run Holder (92 – Second in NCAA history). Two-time All-American (2017 – 2nd team, 2015 – 3rd team). She was the 2017 Co-Pac-12 Player of the Year and 2014 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Only player in NCAA history to hit 20 home runs in each of her four seasons.


Mo Mercado (2014-17)

Mo Mercado (Arizona Athletics)

Second-team NFCA All-American in 2017. Started all 243 games in her Wildcat career. Four-time NFCA all-region performer. Named first-team All-Pac-12 and All-Defense as a junior and a senior.


Alyssa Palomino-Cardoza (2017-19)

Alyssa Palomino-Cardoza (Arizona Athletics photo)

A first-team NFCA All-American each of the last two seasons, Arizona’s first player to earn back-to-back All-America honors since Brittany Lastrapes (2010-11). Three-time all-conference player, including back-to-back first-team selections. Enters her senior season with 54 career homers, 12th most in school history

Mandie Perez (2013-17)

Mandie Perez (Arizona Athletics photo)

First-team All-Pac-12 performer in 2016 and 2017. Was first or second in the Pac-12 in runs as a junior and a senior, including a league-leading 66 in 2017. Drafted No. 19 in the 2017 NPF Draft to the USSSA Pride

Brittany Lastrapes (2008-11)

Brittany Lastraptes (Pac-12 photo)

A left fielder, Lastrapes earned All-America honors in all four seasons for the Wildcats, including first-team accolades in 2009, 2010 and 2011 after earning All-America Third-Team honors as a freshman. Lastrapes was named to the All-Pac-10 First Team in each of her four years. Arizona advanced to the College World Series three times during her career, including a runner-up finish in 2011. She batted .417 during her four-year career, and graduated as the school’s record-holder in career doubles (66).

Designated Player

Kelsey Rodriguez (2011-14)

Kelsey Rodriguez (Arizona Athletics photo)

Became the first softball player in Wildcat history to receive the prestigious Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year award. During her senior season, she was First-Team All-Pac-12 and First-Team Pac-12 All-Academic selections. Batted .419, which was the third-best in the Pac-12, while leading the league in doubles. In addition to her accomplishments on the field, she also held a 3.92 GPA in the classroom.

Second Team

Kenzie Fowler (Arizona Athletics photo)

P: Kenzie Fowler (2010-14)
C: Chelsea Goodacre (2012-15)
1B: Hallie Wilson (2012-15)
2B: Mo Mercado (2014-17)
3B: Brigette Del Ponte (2010-13)
SS: Kellie Fox (2014-15)
OF: Lauren Schutzler (2008-11)
OF: Ashleigh Hughes (2015-18)
OF: Chelsea Suitos (2012-15)
DP: T Statman (2016-19)

Honorable Mention

Taylor McQuillin (ESPN screen shot)

P: Taylor McQuillin (2016-19)
P: Gina Snyder (2018-19)
P: Alyssa Denham (2018-19)
C: Stacie Chambers (2008-11)
1B: Rylee Pierce (2019)
3B: Malia Martinez (2017-19)
SS: K’Lee Arredondo (2010)
OF: Aleah Craighton (2018)
OF: Courtney Rodriguez (2013-14)

FOLLOW @JAVIERJMORALES ON TWITTER! publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He is a former Arizona Daily Star beat reporter for the Arizona basketball team, including when the Wildcats won the 1996-97 NCAA title. He has also written articles for, Bleacher Report, Lindy’s Sports,, The Arizona Republic, Sporting News and Baseball America, among many other publications. He has also authored the book “The Highest Form of Living”, which is available at Amazon.

To Top