Frog & Firkin Football Week 7 Schedule and History


1A St. David 51, 1A Baboquivari 6


4A Douglas (1-1) at 4A Casa Grande (3-0)
Casa Grande leads the series 4-2-1 from 1954 to 1990. This is the first game in 31 years.

2A Pima (3-2) at 2A Benson (3-1)
Benson leads 17-7 dating back to 1949.


6A Tucson (0-3) at 5A Rincon/UHS (1-2)
Tucson leads 28-8-1. Rincon has lost the last seven dating back to 2008.

6A Mountain Pointe (2-2) at 5A Buena (1-2)
Mountain Pointe won both games played in 2011 and 2012.

5A Salpointe (3-0) at 5A Saguaro (2-1)
Saguaro knocked Salpointe out in the semifinal round in 2016 and in the 2017 and 2018 state championship games. The two teams were supposed to play in the first round of the Open Division last year but the Sabercats had to forfeit due to COVID.

5A Sunnyside (3-1) at 5A Cholla (1-3)
Sunnyside leads 25-1 from 1972 to 2012. Cholla won in 1984.

5A Desert View (3-0) at 5A Marana (4-0)
Marana leads 10-8 but Desert View won the last game in 2018. The winner of this game might have enough points to qualify for the Open Division.

5A Notre Dame (1-2) at 5A Mountain View (1-2)
First meeting.

5A Flowing Wells (1-3) at 5A Nogales (2-1)
Flowing Wells leads 24-13-2 from 1959 to 2010.

5A Campo Verde (1-3) at 5A Cienega (1-2)
First meeting.

5A Ironwood Ridge (2-2) at 4A Canyon del Oro (1-3)
Ironwood Ridge leads 9-3 from 2005 including the last seven in a row.

4A Marcos de Niza (2-2) at 4A Amphitheater (2-1)
Marcos de Niza won in 1999 and Amphi won in 2000.

4A Arcadia (1-3) at 4A Pueblo (2-1)
First meeting.

4A Walden Grove (2-2) at 4A Deer Valley (3-0)
First meeting.

4A Catalina Foothills (1-3) at 3A Pusch Ridge (4-1)
Teams are tied 1-1 since 2016.

4A Rio Rico (0-3) at 3A Sahuarita (0-5)
Sahuarita leads 17-1 since 1997. Rio Rico won in 2010.

4A Gila Ridge (0-3) at 2A Tanque Verde (3-2)
First meeting.

3A Sabino (3-2) at 4A Sahuaro (0-2)
Sabino leads 29-17 since 1974.

3A Thatcher (4-1) at 4A Empire (2-2)
Empire leads 2-1 from 2009 to 2015.

2A Willcox (5-0) at 2A Tombstone (2-2)
Willcox leads 46-5 dating back to 1950.

2A Morenci (4-1) at 2A Bisbee (3-2)
Morenci leads 22-21 dating back to 1946..

2A Santa Cruz (2-3) at 2A Coolidge (2-3)
Coolidge leads 39-31-1 dating back to 1949.

2A Catalina (1-4) at 2A Sequoia Pathway (3-2)
First meeting.

1A St. David (5-1) at 1A San Manuel (5-0)
St. David beat San Manuel 58-0 last year.

1A Ft. Thomas (1-3) at 1A Valley Union (2-3)
Valley Union leads 18-10 since 1974.

BYE: 4A Mica Mountain (1-0). UNAVAILABLE: 2A Santa Rita (0-4)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

To Top