Six from Southern Arizona on initial Ed Doherty Award Watch List

Bijan Robinson (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club released the 2017 Ed Doherty Award Watch List for the current Arizona high school football season today following voting results from its Selection Committee. Forty-three (43) players from across the state, representing each classification level (1A-6A), made the list based on their performances during the first 3 weeks of the 2017 season.

In order to be eligible to appear on the Watch List, a player must have played during his team’s games, recorded an exceptional performance and be in good academic standing. Each week the Selection Committee will award Exceptional Performance Medallions to players from across the state, which will earn them a spot on the final list from which the Finalists and Award winner will be voted on by the Selection Committee.

Rob Yowell (Co-Chairmen)
Ward Hickey (Co-Chairmen)
Ralph Amsden (Arizona Varsity)
Chris Eaton (Gridiron Arizona)
Jason Jewell (24/7 Scout.com)
Andy Morales (AzPreps365.com/AllSportsTucson.com)
Richard Obert (Arizona Republic)
Rhett Stallworth (Yuma Catholic Administrator)
Jason Skoda (MyNewsMesa.com)

“This award represents all that is great about high school football in Arizona,” said Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club President Don Kile. “We felt that the increased profile of the football talent coming from our state warranted highlighting the accomplishments of the athletes vying for this award throughout the season.”

Selection Committee Co-Chairmen Rob Yowell and Ward Hickey worked with members of the high school sports media, former coaches and stakeholders in high school sports to gather the list of eligible candidates for the Watch List over the first three weeks of the season. “Like with the CFP college poll, our goal with the Watch List is to focus on what the players have done in the first few weeks of the season and not try and compete with preseason lists,” stated Yowell. “We also fully expect some players not on this list to rise up during the season and earn a spot on our final list,” added Hickey.

The 22nd edition of Ed Doherty Award, which was established in 1987 in honor of the former coach whose career included in-state stints at St. Mary’s, Salpointe Catholic, Arizona and Arizona State, will be presented to the top football player in Arizona at an awards luncheon scheduled on December 9. Former winners include Ryan Finlay (Paradise Valley), Teddy and Tim Ruben (Saguaro), Brett Hundley (Chandler), Ka’Deem Carey (Canyon del Oro), Bobby Wade (Desert Vista) and Todd Heap (Mesa Mountain View).


Trenton Bourguet Marana HS QB Jr
Nick Brahler Ironwood Ridge HS RB Sr
Elijah Carey Canyon Del Oro HS RB Sr
Jamarye Joiner Cienega HS QB Sr
Matteo Mele Salpointe Catholic OL Sr
Bijan Robinson Salpointe Catholic ATH So



Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at AMoralesMyTucson@yahoo.com

From news release

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top