Arizona Football

Let the countdown begin: Jake Fischer on trophy watch list


The Arizona football team begins its 2013 season against Northern Arizona at Arizona Stadium on Aug. 30, which is 100 days away.

From now until then, this Web site will count down the days with facts about the Wildcats, their players, coaching staff and opponents. This is not a ranking, only a list of 100 facts and observances related to the 2013 Arizona football team and coach Rich Rodriguez.

Let’s start with Day 100 on our countdown. …

Jake Fischer will be a returning junior captain for Arizona

Jake Fischer will be a returning junior captain for Arizona (YouTube)

The 2013 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List was announced last week by the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif. with Arizona senior linebacker Jake Fischer earning a spot. Of the 42 players on the watch list, 11 are from the Pac-12 with 20 linebackers, 14 defensive backs and eight defensive linemen.

Fischer, Arizona’s team captain as a junior in 2012, was instrumental in the implementation of the 3-3-5 defensive system by defensive coordinator Jeff Casteel.

Fischer has played in 39 career games, making 21 starts at linebacker, and was named Pac-12 Honorable Mention in 2012. He was also the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week for his 13 tackles in UA’s 2012 home opener against Toledo. He totaled 119 tackles in 2012 with 6.5 for a loss of 16 yards. He also forced three and recovered four fumbles.

Also heavily involved in community service, Fischer was a member of the 2012 American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team. Fischer was a 2012 CoSIDA Academic All-District award winner and is a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree as a marketing major.

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, the Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity. publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He also writes blogs for Lindy’s College Sports, and Sports Illustrated-sponsored site


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top