Honoring Arizona Wildcats’ All-Americans on the Fourth



All-Pac-10/12 Team
Special Teams
Preseason Picks

The Arizona football team begins its 2013 season against Northern Arizona at Arizona Stadium on Aug. 30, which is 57 days away. From now until then, this Web site will count down the days with facts about the Wildcats, their players, coaching staff and opponents. This is not a ranking, only a list of 100 facts and observances related to the 2013 Arizona football team and coach Rich Rodriguez.

Arizona's College Football Hall of Fame member Chuck Cecil was a consensus All-American and First-Team Academic All-American in 1987

Arizona’s College Football Hall of Fame member Chuck Cecil was a consensus All-American and First-Team Academic All-American in 1987

Get out your red, white and blue flag this July Fourth and wave it. I’m writing about the American flag, but if you decide to wave the Arizona Wildcats’ block “A” flag, you are at liberty to do so.

The “100 Days to Kickoff 2013” series takes the time on this holiday to honor those Arizona players who were talented enough to be chosen All-Americans.

Fifteen different Wildcats have been selected first-team All-Americans by major organizations that are held in the highest regard, such as Associated Press, The Sporting News, Walter Camp Football Foundation,Football Writers Association of America and the American Football Coaches Association.

Ka’Deem Carey became the eighth consensus All-American last season when Walter Camp, Associated Press and The Sporting News selected him as a first-team running back.

Carey, a junior, will attempt to become only the fourth unanimous All-American this season, joining defensive tackle/nose guard Rob Waldrop, defensive end Tedy Bruschi and cornerback Chris McAlister.

A consensus pick is chosen by three of the entities listed in the first paragraph of this blog. Unanimous is chosen by all.

If senior linebacker Jake Fischer has another standout season, he may garner enough respect to earn a spot on the Academic All-American team, chosen by CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America).

Fischer, a Pac-12 First-Team All-Academic choice last year, can become the sixth UA player to be a first-team Academic All-American. Jon Abbott, a defensive tackle, earned that honor a remarkable three consecutive years from 1975-77. Legendary Chuck Cecil, a safety in the College Football Hall of Fame, was a two-time Academic All-American (1986 and 1987) and a second-team choice in 1985.

Cecil, Arizona’s career leader in interceptions with 21, was a also a consensus All-American as a senior in 1987.

A former walk-on who showed up to Arizona weighing 148 pounds, is the only UA player to earn the highest honor on the football field and in the classroom.

First-team selections in bold. Information found in 2012 Arizona Football Media Guide

1947 Fred W. Enke, Back, (3rd Team, Associated Press)

1951 Jim Donarski, G, (2nd Team, AP)

1955 Art Luppino, Back, (2nd Team, Williamson)

1961 Eddie Wilson, QB, (3rd Team, AP)

1968 Tom Nelson, T, (3rd Team, AP)

1971 Mark Arneson, LB, (1st Team, The Sporting News)

1972 Jackie Wallace, DB, (1st Team, United Press International/TSN; 3rd Team, AP)

1973 Jim O’Connor, OT, (3rd Team, AP/Football News)

1975 Theopolis Bell, WR, (1st Team, Newspaper Enterprise Association); Mike Dawson, DT, (2nd Team, AP)

1976 Keith Hartwig, WR, (3rd Team, FN)

1979 Cleveland Crosby, DT, (3rd Team AP/UPI)

1982 Ricky Hunley, ILB, (1st Team, AP, Kodak; 2nd Team, FN)

1983 Ricky Hunley, ILB, (Consensus 1st Team, AP, Kodak, UPI, Football Writers Association of American)

1984 LaMonte Hunley, ILB, (3rd Team, FN)

1985 Allan Durden, S, (1st Team, UPI, NEA, Walter Camp, FN); Max Zendejas, PK, (2nd Team, TSN, 3rd Team, FN)

1986 Byron Evans, ILB, (2nd team, AP, FN); Joe Tofflemire, C, (2nd team, FN); Chuck Cecil, S, (2nd team, TSN; 3rd Team, FN)

1987 Chuck Cecil, S, (Consensus 1st Team, Kodak, FN, UPI, Walter Camp); Joe Tofflemire, C, (2nd Team, FN)

1988 Joe Tofflemire, C, (1st Team, FN)

1989 Glenn Parker, OL, (2nd Team, FN); Chris Singleton, OLB, (2nd Team, TSN)

1990 Darryll Lewis, CB, (Consensus 1st Team, AP, UPI, FWAA, Walter Camp, Kodak)

1992 Rob Waldrop, NG, (Consensus 1st Team, AP, UPI, FWAA; 2nd Team, FN); Josh Miller, P, (1st Team, FWAA, TSN)

1993 Rob Waldrop, DT, (Unanimous 1st Team); Tedy Bruschi, DE, (2nd team, AP); Sean Harris, ILB, (3rd team AP)

1994 Tedy Bruschi, DE, (Consensus 1st Team); Steve McLaughlin, PK, (Consensus 1st Team); Tony Bouie, FS, (Consensus 1st Team)

1995 Tedy Bruschi, DE, (Unanimous 1st Team)

1997 Chris McAlister, CB, (3rd Team, TSN)

1998 Chris McAlister, CB, (Unanimous 1st Team, FWAA, American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp, AP, FN, TSN); Yusuf Scott, OG, (2nd Team, FN; 3rd Team, AP); Trung Canidate, RB, (3rd Team, AP); Keoni Fraser, DL (All Freshman, TSN); Makoa Freitas, OG (All Freshman, TSN)

1999 Dennis Northcutt, KR, (Consensus 1st Team, AP, FWAA): WR, (1st Team, AFCA, SN; 2nd team, FN); Trung Canidate, RB, (2nd Team, CBS/Sports Line; 3rd Team, AP, FN)

2000 Clarence Farmer, RB, (1st Team, All Freshman TSN, 1st Team, True Freshman Rivals.com); Michael Jolivette, CB, (1st Team, All Freshman TSN); Reggie Sampay, C/G, (3rd Team, All Freshman TSN, 1st Team, True Freshman Rivals.com)

2002 Bobby Wade, WR, (2nd Team, TSN)

2004 Antoine Cason, CB, (1st Team, All Freshman TSN, FWAA, Rivals.com); Peter Graniello, OL, (2nd Team, All Freshman TSN, Rivals.com)

2005 Danny Baugher, P, (1st Team, Pro Football Weekly, 3rd Team, AP); Mike Thomas, WR, (2nd Team, TSN All-Freshman); Johnathan Turner, DE, (3rd Team, TSN All-Freshman)

2006 Antoine Cason, CB, (2nd Team, SI.com/Rivals.com); Nick Folk, P, (3rd Team, Rivals.com); Eben Britton, OT, (2nd team, TSN All-Freshman, 2nd Team, Rivals.com)

2007 Antoine Cason, CB, (Consensus 1st Team, Walter Camp, AP, TSN, CBS Sports, ESPN.com, Rivals.com, SI.com, CollegeFootballNews.com); Spencer Larsen, LB, (2nd Team, Rivals.com, 3rd Team, CollegeFootballNews.com); Mike Thomas, WR, (3rd Team, CollegeFootballNews.com); Rob Gronkowski (1st Team, Freshman TSN, Rivals.com, CollegeFootballNews.com); Colin Baxter, C, (3rd Team, CollegeFootballNews.com); Keenyn Crier, P, (2nd Team, Freshman TSN and Rivals.com)

2008 Rob Gronkowski, TE, (3rd Team, AP)

2009 Trevin Wade, CB, (3rd Team, CollegeFootballNews.com)

2010 Juron Criner, WR, (2nd Team, Sports Illustrated, CbsSports.com; 3rd Team, Rivals.com); Colin Baxter, C, (2nd Team, Rivals.com); Justin Washington, DT, (1st Team, Freshman Sporting News, CollegeFootballNews.com; 2nd Team, Phil Steele)

2011 Fabbians Ebbele, OT, (1st Team, Sporting News Freshman)

2012 Ka’Deem Carey, RB, (Consensus 1st Team, Walter Camp, TSN, AP)

Academic All-Americans

1968 Mike Moody, G (1st)
1975 Jon Abbott, DT (1st)
1976 Jon Abbott, DT (1st)
1977 Jon Abbott, DT (1st); Doug Henderson, DB (2nd)
1978 Jeff Whitton, MG (2nd)
1979 Jeff Whitton, MG (1st)
1982 Ivan Lesnik, DL (2nd)
1983 Ivan Lesnik, DL (2nd)
1985 Chuck Cecil, DB (2nd)
1986 Chuck Cecil, DB (1st)
1987 Chuck Cecil, DB (1st)
1996 Wayne Wyatt, C (1st)

* * * * *

The best No. 57 to wear the Arizona jersey, according to TucsonCitizen.com’s Anthony Gimino is center Norman Katnik (1978-79). He was second on team in offensive helmet stickers during his two years with the Wildcats. His son Norm Jr. played at USC and in the NFL.

WILDABOUTAZCATS.net publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He also writes blogs for Lindy’s College Sports, TucsonCitizen.com and Sports Illustrated-sponsored site ZonaZealots.com.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top