All-Bowl Team

Arizona Wildcats All-Bowl Team: Running Back/Offensive Line





[ezcol_1half id=”” class=”” style=””]

From today through Saturday — when Arizona plays New Mexico in the New Mexico Bowl at Albuquerque — will continue to run an Arizona All-Bowl team comprised of players at each position that performed the best in the postseason. Today we’re honoring running backs and offensive linemen. Tomorrow will be the wide receivers and special teams players.


Running Back

First Team — Ka’Deem Carey, 2012 New Mexico Bowl & 2013 AdvoCare V100 Bowl

Carey, Arizona’s career rushing leader, has the two most productive performances on the ground in bowl games in school history. The Tucson product from Canyon del Oro rushed for a New Mexico Bowl-record 172 yards on 28 carries in 2012 against Nevada. He followed that performance a year later in the 2013 AdvoCare V100 Bowl against Boston College with 169 yards and two touchdowns on 27 carries. Both of the bowl performances were in the midst of a 16-game streak for Carey topping 100 yards rushing.


[ezcol_1half_end id=”” class=”” style=””]

Site founder and award-winning sports journalist Javier Morales has published his first e-book, “The Highest Form of Living”, a fiction piece about a young man who overcomes a troubled upbringing without his lost father and wayward mother through basketball and hope. His hope is realized through the sport he loves. Basketball enables him to get past his fears. His experience on the court indirectly brings him closer to his parents in a unique, heartfelt way. Please order it at Amazon (for only $4.99) by clicking on the photo:


First Team — Chuck Levy, 1994 Fiesta Bowl

Levy holds Arizona’s bowl record for the longest run from scrimmage — 68 yards — in the Wildcats’ whitewash of Miami in the 1994 Fiesta Bowl. Levy ran 17 times for 142 yards, earning Fiesta Bowl offensive MVP honors in Arizona’s 29-0 victory.

SECOND TEAM: Trung Canidate vs. Nebraska in the 1998 Holiday Bowl and vs. New Mexico in the 1997 Bowl. Canidate gained 101 yards on 22 carries in the victory over the Cornhuskers. A year earlier, he tallied 97 yards on 24 carries against the Lobos in Tucson in three quarters before leaving with an ankle injury.

Eddie Wolgast vs. Drake in 1949 Salad Bowl. The left halfback in Arizona’s T-formation had 133 yards rushing, eight more than Drake had as a team. Wolgast also rushed for two touchdowns in Arizona’s 14-13 loss in Phoenix.

HONORABLE MENTION: David Adams vs. Georgia in 1985 Sun Bowl (13 carries for only 51 yards but 25 came on run that set up Max Zendejas’ potential game-winning 39-yard field goal with 10 seconds left that went wide right in the 13-13 tie). Also vs. North Carolina in 1986 Aloha Bowl (84 yards on 23 carries and a touchdown). Kelvin Eafon vs. New Mexico in the 1997 Bowl (13 carries for 45 of his 75 yards in the fourth quarter in place of Canidate). Nic Grigsby vs. BYU in 2008 Las Vegas Bowl (87 yards on 20 carries and a touchdown).

Offensive Line

First Team — Joe Tofflemire, center, 1985 Sun Bowl vs. Georgia & 1986 Aloha Bowl vs. North Carolina

First-team All-Pac-10 and Football News second-team All-American in 1986 as a sophomore.

First Team — Glenn Parker, tackle, 1989 Copper Bowl vs. North Carolina State

First-team All-Pac-10 and Football News second-team All-American in 1989 as a senior.

First Team — Warner Smith, guard, 1994 Fiesta Bowl vs. Miami

First-team All-Pac-10 in the 1994 season as a senior, veteran on the offensive line against the Hurricanes.

First Team — Yusuf Scott, guard, 1998 Holiday Bowl vs. Nebraska

First-team All-Pac-10 in the 1998 season.

First Team — Eben Britton, tackle, 2008 Las Vegas Bowl vs. BYU

First-team All-Pac-10 in the 2008 season.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Pages: 1 2

To Top