Tucson High School Sports

The Gregory School Captures Consecutive 1A Boys State Hoops Titles

The Gregory School used an 18-0 run in the first quarter to cruise to a 79-51 win over Ray, capturing its second consecutive Class 1A state boys basketball championship on Saturday night at the Findlay Toyota Center in Prescott.

Senior guard Tomari Harris had 28 points to lead the Hawks, who finished 29-4 this season.

The Gregory School’s early run gave the Hawks a 28-10 lead heading into the second quarter. They extended their lead to 45-21 at halftime behind a fullcourt pressure defense that led to high-percentage shots off steals.

The Gregory School finished its season 29-4 with a second straight Class 1A state title (The Gregory School photo)

“We started the game a little sluggish even though we talked about starting with high energy,” The Gregory School coach Craig Everson told AZPreps365. “Defensively we were gambling a little bit. That’s not our style.

“The spark came when we went full court on them and picked up the tempo. We felt we had the speed and skill advantage.”

Senior Demari Harris scored eight points in the championship game after scoring 15 points to match his twin brother Tomari earlier in the day in a 51-48 win over Fort Thomas in the semifinals.

“The amazing thing about these kids is that they play for each other,” Everson said. “They’re a tight-knit family. Even though this was a long week, having been here since Wednesday, those kids enjoyed every minute of it. And we’re going to stay one more night because they want to be together one more night.”

The Hawks have four titles now, in 2008, 2009, 2018 and now 2019.


Tucson High (8)
1934: ALL (Rollin T. Gridley)
1942: ALL (Earl McCullar)
1943: ALL (Bud Doolen)
1945: ALL (Bud Doolen)
1948: ALL (Bud Doolen)
1949: 5A (Bud Doolen)
1962: 5A (Tony Morales)
1969: 5A (Tony Morales)

Nogales (5)
1949: 3A (Harry O’Mealy)
1976: 4A (Ray Molera)
1982: 4A (Ray Molera)
1983: 4A (Ray Molera)
2011: 4A-I (Ricardo de la Riva)

Sahuaro (4)
1970: 5A (Dick McConnell)
1982: 5A (Dick McConnell)
2000: 5A (Dick McConnell)
2001: 5A (Dick McConnell)

The Gregory School (4)
2008: 1A (Paul Baranowski)
2009: 1A (Paul Baranowski)
2018: 1A (Craig Everson)
2019: 1A (Craig Everson)

Marana (3)
1969: 2A (Norm Patton)
1970: 2A (Norm Patton)
1972: 3A (Norm Patton)

Bisbee (2)
1930: ALL (Francis Alexander)
1994: 2A (Vince Creviston)

Buena (2)
1969: 4A (Don Harris)
1970: 4A (Don Harris)

Canyon del Oro (2)
1977: 4A (John Tissaw)
1978: 4A (John Tissaw)

Flowing Wells (2)
1963: 3A (Ed Nymeyer)
1968: 3A (Ed Nymeyer)

Green Fields (2)
1990: 1A (Bill Ludeke)
1991: 1A (Brian Peabody)

Pueblo (2)
1977: 5A (Roland LaVetter)
1978: 5A (Roland LaVetter)

Santa Rita (2)
1999: 4A (Jim Ferguson)
2010: 4A-II (Jim Ferguson)

St. David (2)
1998: 1A (John Bryant)
2002: 1A (John Bryant)

Ajo (1)
1987: 1A (Bo Whitelock)

Amphitheater (1)
2011: 4A-II (Ben Hurley)

Benson (1)
1971: 1A (Jack Wilson)

Catalina (1)
1963: 5A (Galen Klintner)

Cholla (1)
1992: 4A (Paul Dull)

Desert Christian (1)
2001: 1A (Chris Walter)

Douglas (1)
1932: ALL (Milt Morse)

Ironwood Ridge (1)
2008: 5A-II (Brian Peabody)

Rincon (1)
1965: 5A (Dick King)

Rio Rico (1)
2004: 3A (John Fanning)

Sunnyside (1)
1993: 4A (Dwight Rees)

Valley Union (1)
1985: 1A (LW Jackson)

Willcox (1)
1979: 3A: (Greg Lasley)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top