Tucson High School Sports

Girls Tennis: Pusch Ridge wins third in a row and sixth overall

(Courtesy Photo)

No. 2 Pusch Ridge beat No. 1 Thatcher 5-2 Saturday afternoon at the Paseo Racquet Center in Glendale to win the Division III state championship. The victory is the third title in a row for the girl’s program and the sixth overall.

“Frankly, this was unbelievable,” said head coach Andy Fetsis. “We may have won 5-2 but the match was super tight and Emma Reilly’s match (from the third court) took three and half hours alone.”

It was a clean sweep for the program for the second year in a row with No. 1 Sofia Fetsis winning her second singles title and No. 2 Colleen Harris and Reilly paired up to win the doubles title. Kate Maxfield and Hailey Brack won the doubles title last year but the duo graduated. No. 6 Reagan Blease also graduated last year which meant Fetsis had to replace half of his rotation and he will have to do that all over again next year with Sofia Fetsis, Reilly and No. 5 Nicole Duran graduating.

“This one seems a little sweeter because of all the work they had to put into it,” Fetsis added. “We are young now but I think the new girls see what has happened before and how we were able to win in different ways and they want to be a part of it. The new girls want to be a part of a winning tradition.”

Fetsis tied former Pusch Ridge coach Andy Towne with three titles. Returning players include Harris, No. 4 Ashley Drake and No. 6 Emily Johnsboen.


Tucson (23)
1915: 5A (unknown)
1916: 5A (unknown)
1929: 5A (Nelda Taffe)
1936: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1937: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1938: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1945: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1946: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1947: 5A (Kathryn Young)
1948: 5A (Romaine Bower)
1949: 5A (Romaine Bower)
1950: 5A (Sally Henry)
1956: 5A (June Holcombe)
1959: 5A (Sue Clark)
1960: 5A (Sue Clark)
1961: 5A (Sue Clark)
1962: 5A (Sue Clark)
1964: 5A (Sue Clark)
1966: 5A (Sue Clark)
1967: 5A (Sue Clark)
1968: 5A (Sue Clark)
1971: 5A (Sue Clark)
1972: 5A (Sue Clark)

Catalina Foothills (15)
2000: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2001: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2002: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2003: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2004: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2005: 4A (Kristie Stevens)
2006: 4A-I (Kristie Stevens)
2007: 4A-I (Kristie Stevens)
2009: 4A-I (Kristie Stevens)
2010: 4A-I (Kristie Stevens)
2011: 4A-I (Kristie Stevens)
2013: D-II (Kristie Stevens)
2014: D-II (Kristie Stevens)
2018: D-II (Kristie Stevens)
2019: D-II (Kristie Stevens)

Bisbee (10)
1921: 5A (unknown)
1959: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1961: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1964: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1965: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1966: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1967: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1968: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1969: 4A (Fred Corrin)
1970: 4A (Curtis McKale)

Salpointe (9)
1993: 5A (Jim Refkin)
1994: 5A (John Condes)
1996: 5A (John Condes)
2004: 5A (Perri Touche)
2006: 5A-I (Perri Touche)
2007: 5A-I (Perri Touche)
2009: 5A-I (Perri Touche)
2010: 5A-I (Perri Touche)
2011: 5A-I (Perri Touche)

Willcox (7)
1936: 3A (Dorothy Sawyer)
1955: 1A.2A (Cecil Miller)
1965: 1A/2A (Cecil Miller)
1965: 1A/2A (Doug Wagner)
1976: 1A/2A (Connie Truelove)
1992: 1A/2A (Anthony Prowell)
1993: 1A/2A (Bob Nelson)

Canyon del Oro (6)
1976: 4A (Ina Leffler)
1976: 4A (Ina Leffler)
1977: 4A (Bucky Hazon)
1978: 4A (Bucky Hazon)
1979: 4A (Bucky Hazon)
1980: 4A (Pam Reavis)

Pusch Ridge (6)
2007: 1A/2A (David Towne)
2008: 1A (David Towne)
2010: 1A (David Towne)
2017: D-III (Andy Fetsis)
2018: D-III (Andy Fetsis)
2019: D-III (Andy Fetsis)

Tombstone (6)
1970: 1A/2A (Bill Symms)
1981: 1A/2A (Charlie Smith)
1983: 1A/2A (Charlie Smith)
1984: 1A/2A (Charlie Smith)
1987: 1A/2A (Charlie Smith)
1991: 1A/2A (Charlie Smith)

The Gregory School (5)
1999: 1A (Dale Long)
2000: 1A (Dale Long)
2001: 1A (Faith Hisey)
2008: 1A (Mark Swenson)
2011: 1A (Mark Swenson)

Benson (4)
1942: 1A-2A (unknown)
1956: 1A/2A (Bill Marquardt)
1990: 1A/2A (Annetta Follmer)
2016: D-III (JT Merrill)

Sahuaro (4)
1973: 5A (Betty Johnson)
1975: 5A (Betty Johnson)
1978: 5A (Karen Oliver)
1979: 5A (George Yuhas)

Nogales (3)
1981: 4A (Jody Moreno)
1984: 4A (Ron Guglielmo)
1985: 4A (Ron Guglielmo)

Sabino (3)
1992: 4A (Chuck Leggett)
1993: 4A (Chuck Leggett)
1995: 4A (Eric Anderson)

Sahuarita (2)
1983: 3A (Pat Paterson)
1998: 3A (Dee Christofers)

Amphitheater (1)
1985: 5A (Glenn Steimling)

Flowing Wells (1)
1989: 4A (Paul Grissom)

Ironwood Ridge (1)
2012: D-II (William Little)

Rincon/UHS (1)
1994: 4A (Roland Kotwica)

Santa Rita (1)
1972: 4A (Maxine Tovrea)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top