Arizona Baseball

Arizona Wildcats’ Reported New Pitching Coach Nate Yeskie Has Background of Producing Top Talent at Oregon State

In a significant move, Arizona is reportedly set to hire former Oregon State pitching coach Nate Yeskie in the same capacity as coach Jay Johnson continues to restructure his staff.

Kendall Rodgers of tweeted today that sources have indicated to him that Yeskie will become the Wildcats’ associate head coach and pitching coach.

Rodgers went so far as to tweet that Arizona is offering Yeskie a salary “in the elite SEC school type of range.”

“I’m actually a little shocked at the commitment Arizona made here,” he tweeted.

Johnson is filling a spot on his staff after former recruiting coordinator and infield coach Sergio Brown left for Cal State Fullerton in late June. Michael Lev of The Arizona Daily Star reported that Dave Lawn, who had been Arizona’s pitching coach for each of Johnson’s first four seasons, will remain on staff as defensive coordinator.

Volunteer coach Marc Wanaka will reportedly return as the Wildcats’ hitting instructor.

Nate Yeskie was the pitching coach for the Oregon State Beavers when they won the College World Series in 2018 (Oregon State photo)

Yeskie was selected the 2017 Assistant Coach of the Year by and the Pitching Coach of the Year by Collegiate Baseball. He completed 11 years with the Beavers from 2009 to 2019. He was part of the staff that coach Oregon State to the College World Series title in 2018.

Yeskie became available after Oregon State did not hire him as head coach to replace retired Pat Casey, who coached the Beavers for 24 years.

Oregon State set a school-record with a 1.93 ERA in 2017, which also led the nation. The Beavers were also tops nationally in shutouts (14) and hits per nine innings (6.27).

Nine different pitchers have been named All-Americans during his tenure, including eight since the 2013 season. Most recently, in 2018, Luke Heimlich, Bryce Fehmel and Jake Mulholland were all named All-Americans by at least one publication.

Nate Yeskie’s Pitching Talent Produced at Oregon State

2009: Sam Gaviglio (HM), Kevin Rhoderick (HM), Tyler Waldron (HM)
2010: Matt Boyd (HM), Greg Peavey (HM), Kevin Rhoderick (HM)
2011: Sam Gaviglio, Tony Bryant, Josh Osich (HM)
2012: Dan Child (HM), Jace Fry (HM), Ben Wetzler (HM)
2013: Matt Boyd, Andrew Moore (Pac-12 FOY), Ben Wetzler, Scott Schultz (HM)
2014:Jace Fry (Pac-12 POY), Ben Wetzler, Scott Schultz (HM)
2015: Andrew Moore, Drew Rasmussen
2016: Bryce Fehmel (HM)
2017: Luke Heimlich (Pitcher of Year), Jake Thompson, Brandon Eisert (HM), Jake Mulholland (HM)
2018: Luke Heimlich (Pitcher of Year), Bryce Fehmel, Jake Mulholland (HM)
2019: Jake Mulholland

2009: Sam Gaviglio (Freshman)
2010: Matt Boyd (Freshman)
2011: Sam Gaviglio
2012: Jace Fry (Freshman)
2013: Andrew Moore (Freshman & Overall), Matt Boyd
2014: Jace Fry, Ben Wetzler
2015: Andrew Moore, Drew Rasmussen (Freshman), Mitch Hickey (Freshman)
2016: Bryce Fehmel (Freshman & Overall)
2017: Luke Heimlich, Jake Thompson, Jake Mulholland (Freshman & Overall), Brandon Eisert (Freshman)
2018: Luke Heimlich, Bryce Fehmel, Jake Mulholland, Kevin Abel (Freshman of the Year)

FOLLOW @JAVIERJMORALES ON TWITTER! publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He is a former Arizona Daily Star beat reporter for the Arizona basketball team, including when the Wildcats won the 1996-97 NCAA title. He has also written articles for, Bleacher Report, Lindy’s Sports,, The Arizona Republic, Sporting News and Baseball America, among many other publications. He has also authored the book “The Highest Form of Living”, which is available at Amazon.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top