All Decade Football Team: RB Bijan Robinson, Salpointe

(Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

From 2010-2019, Salpointe’s Bijan Robinson easily standouts out as the top running back in the state of Arizona and that includes all of Southern Arizona. With state records in rushing yards and scoring, this was probably the easiest pick. Not only that, Robinson rushed for over 2,000 yards in three separate seasons. He is the only one from Arizona to do so in any decade or century.

Former Canyon del Oro standout Ka’Deem Carey played for the Dorados in the fall of 2010. He finished his career with 5,701 yards with 82 rushing TDs. Carey is the easy choice for RB of the previous decade. He rushed for 1,754 yards with 26 TDs in 2010.

Bijan Robinson, Salpointe: 7,036, 103 TDs (2016-2019)
Dionte Flores, Flowing Wells: 5,006, 70 TDs (2012-2015)
Manny Vera, Sunnyside/Cienega: 4,123, 55 TDs (2010-2011)
Tyler Wilridge, Tombstone: 4,115, 44 TDs (2015-2018)
Johnny Pena, Salpointe: 3,871, 56 TDs, (2010-2012)
Wyatt Jeffries, Empire: 3,770, 25 TDs (2015-2018)
Richie Estrada, Mountain View: 3,701, 33 TDs (2011-2013)
Rey Chavez, Bisbee: 3,682, 42 TDs (2011-2014)
Mitch Fischer, Ironwood Ridge: 3,663, 47 TDs (2010-2011)
Elijah Carey, Canyon del Oro: 3,119, 25 TDs (2014-2017)
Dante Anderson, Amphitheater, 3,063, 26 TDs (2012-2014)
Taylor Fitzgerald, Pusch Ridge: 3,029, 38 TDS (2012-2014)
Dominique Drake, Buena: 3,005, 40 TDs (2012-2013)
Mario Padilla, Salpointe: 3,000, 45 TDs (2015-2019)
Nick Brahler, Ironwood Ridge: 2,914, 36 TDs (2016-2017)

QB of the Decade: Andy Cota


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top