Arizona Women's Basketball

Arizona Wildcats Women’s Basketball All-Decade (2010-19) Team

Listed below are the top five players who have competed for the Arizona women’s basketball program from 2010 through 2019:


Aari McDonald (2018-19)

Aari McDonald (Arizona Athletics photo)

One of the most decorated players in Arizona history in only her second year in the program. Some of her accomplishments: Arizona single-season scoring record holder (890), AP Honorable Mention All-American (2019), WBCA Honorable Mention All-American (2019), All-Pac-12 (2019) and Pac-12 All-Defense (2019) . Finished 2018-19 season as the third-leading scorer in the nation with 24.1 points per game. Scored the fourth-most points in Pac-12 history. Scored 34 points against highly-regarded Oregon in the Pac-12 Tournament, the most by an Arizona player in that tournament.


Davellyn Whyte (2010-13)

Davellyn Whyte (Arizona Athletics photo)

One of the most talented to wear an Arizona uniform. She was a 2012 Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention selection, four-time All-Pac-12 pick by league coaches and she earned that honor three times by the media and she was the 2009-10 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. Scored 2,059 points for the second-highest scorer in program history and the second player to reach 2,000 points (Adia Barnes has the most at 2,237). Started and played in every game in her career, starting more games than any player in Arizona history (126).


LaBrittney Jones (2013-17)

LaBrittney Jones (Arizona Athletics photo)

Jones finished her career 11th in Arizona history in scoring (1,263 points), 10th in made field goals (466), eighth in rebounding (668 rebounds), third in blocks (161 blocks) and ninth in made free throws (305). Her 62 blocks as a senior are tied for the third-most in a single season in Arizona history.


Cate Reese (2018-19)

Cate Reese (Arizona Athletics photo)

Became premier player at Arizona as a freshman last season. Played and started in 37 games, the most by a freshman in school history. Second on the team with 11.8 points per game and first on the team with 6.8 rebounds per game. Named Pac-12 All-Freshman. Had the most double-doubles of any freshman in the Pac-12 (seven). Was the leading scorer and rebounder among all freshmen in the Pac-12. Secured the most rebounds (250) since Ify Ibekwe (2011). Barnes, Shawntinice Polk and Whyte are the only freshmen in school history to score more points than Reese. She is the first freshman in school history to score 20 points in a postseason game. She became the first freshman since Polk (2003) to have a double-double in their first career postseason game. Averaged 14.2 points in Arizona’s six-game run to the WNIT title.


Ify Ibekwe (2009-11)

Ify Ibekwe (Arizona Athletics photo)

Averaged 14 points and 11.4 rebounds per game as a junior in 2009-10 and 16.1 points and 9.8 rebounds per game as a senior in 2010-11 prior to being selected with the 24th pick in the 2011 WNBA Draft by the Seattle Storm. She was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection in 2009-10 and 2010-11. Played in the WNBA in 2011 for Seattle and 2017 for the Los Angeles Sparks. Currently playing professionally overseas in Italy.

FOLLOW @JAVIERJMORALES ON TWITTER! publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He is a former Arizona Daily Star beat reporter for the Arizona basketball team, including when the Wildcats won the 1996-97 NCAA title. He has also written articles for, Bleacher Report, Lindy’s Sports,, The Arizona Republic, Sporting News and Baseball America, among many other publications. He has also authored the book “The Highest Form of Living”, which is available at Amazon.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top