All Decade Football Team: The Punters & Kickers

(Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

Here are some of the best place kickers and punters from Southern Arizona over the last decade. Most of these kickers also handled kickoff duties with the notable exception of Salpointe’s Dominic Chakraborty. Chakraborty handled extra points and field goals and his teammate Braden Rosen took care of kickoffs.

Rosen finished with 10,818 kickoff yards in his career at roughly 60 yards a kick with 92 touchbacks. Granted, the more a team scores, the more chances a kicker gets to make extra points and a kicker gets to kickoff but that’s the game of football.

Former Sabino standout Bailey Nottingham finished with 176 points and Cienega’s Jacob Meeker-Hackett made a 51-yard field goal.

For punters, the minimum attempts was 50 and former Cienega standout Luke Holley came out on top with an average of 42.1 yards per punt. Most programs only used one punter per year and the difference in averages was minimal. Former Cienega standout Jamarye Joiner had an average of 39.1 which would have put him near the top but he only had 32 attempts because he was also running the offense which led to fewer punts needed.

(90 Points Minimum/longest)
Bailey Nottingham, Sabino: 176 (40)
Jason Cox, Cienega: 171 (49)
Dominic Chakraborty, Salpointe: 168 (44)
Cameron Scharf, Salpointe: 159 (45)
Luke Bakewell, Salpointe: 156 (42)
Ezra Figueroa, Cienega: 137 (42)
Bennett Nottingham, Sabino: 135 (32)
Jacob Meeker-Hackett, Cienega: 127 (51)
Jacob Lange, Empire: 121 (30)
Mark Vargas, Tucson: 117 (48)
Nathan Farmer, Ironwood Ridge: 115 (39)
Nathan Alvarenga, Walden Grove: 108 (44)
Aaron Aros, Cienega: 100 (49)
Luis Aguilar, Nogales: 94 (41)
Tamerat McLeod, Pusch Ridge: 92 (37)

(50 Punts Minimum)
Luke Holley: Cienega: 57 (42.1)
Parker Tebo, Buena: 84 (39.0)
Lorenzo Sanchez, Empire: 88 (38.6)
Matt Aragon, Cienega: 58 (38.6)
Bug Molina, Bisbee: 63 (37.2)
Ryan Grimm, Buena: 64 (36.8)
Ben Honea, Marana: 52 (36.1)
Kris McWilliams, Sahuaro: 50 (36.1)
Luis Aguilar, Nogales: 50 (35.9)
Ryan Brady, Walden Grove: 52 (34.9)
Nathan Farmer, Ironwood Ridge: 61 (34.8)
Geovan Neuser, Sahuarita: 68 (34.5)
Mark Vargas, Tucson: 63 (34.2)
Diego Armijo, Sabino: 59 (33.0)
Elijah Fant, Marana: 51 (32.5)
Dylan Allison, Flowing Wells: 53 (31.4)
Angel Taylor, Amphitheater: 64 (28.3)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top