Arizona All-Super Bowl Team

Rob Gronkowski headlines Arizona Wildcats All-Super Bowl Team

Rob Gronkowski played in his sixth Super Bowl on Sunday, and he earned his fourth championship — both top accomplishments among former Arizona Wildcats.

The tight end who lettered at Arizona in 2008 and 2009 caught two touchdown passes in Tampa Bay’s 31-9 win over Kansas City in Super Bowl LV at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.

He led the Buccaneers with six receptions for 67 yards.

Rob Gronkowski is the greatest NFL player to come out of Arizona (NFL photo)

Tom Brady and Gronkowski made history in the game. The pair connected for a score in the first quarter setting the record for most touchdowns (13) by any duo in NFL postseason history. They added to their record with another in the second quarter.

Gronkowski also became the first player to catch a pass in five different Super Bowls.

He is certainly part of Arizona’s All-Super Bowl Team of Wildcats who have participated in the Super Bowl.

These teams are as close to a team of proper positions as possible. On defense, four linebackers are listed because only one former player has been listed as a safety in the Super Bowl — Randy Robbins.

Arizona Wildcats All-Super Bowl Team: Offense

Offensive unit comprised of former Arizona Wildcats who went on to play in the Super Bowl (*Denotes Super Bowl win):
Pos.PlayerUANFL teamSuper Bowl
QBNick Foles2009-11Philadelphia EaglesLII (2017)* (MVP)
RBMike Bell2002-05New Orleans SaintsLIV (2009)*
RBTrung Canidate1996-99St. Louis RamsXXXVI (2001)
WRVance Johnson1981-84Denver BroncosXXI (1986)
Denver BroncosXXII (1987)
Denver BroncosXXIV (1989)
TERob Gronkowski2007-08New England PatriotsXLVI (2011)
New England PatriotsXLIX (2014)*
New England PatriotsLI (2016)*
New England PatriotsLII (2017)
New England PatriotsLIII (2018)*
Tampa Bay BuccaneersLV (2020)*
OLGlenn Parker1988-89Buffalo BillsXXV (1990)
Buffalo BillsXXVI (1991)
Buffalo BillsXXVII (1992)
Buffalo BillsXXVIII (1993)
New York GiantsXXXV (2000)
OLJohn Fina1988-91Buffalo BillsXXVII (1992)
Buffalo BillsXXVIIII (1993)
OLMike Freeman1981-83Denver BroncosXXI (1986)
Denver BroncosXXII (1987)
OLFrank Middleton1995-96Oakland RaidersXXXVII (2002)
OL Edwin Mulitalo1997-98Baltimore RavensXXXV (2000)*
WR Theopolis "T" Bell1972-75Pittsburgh SteelersXIII (1978)*
Pittsburgh SteelersXIV (1979)*

HONORABLE MENTION: TE Brandon Manumaleuna (1997-2000), St. Louis Rams, Super Bowl XXXVI (2001); OL Jose Portilla (1996-97), Atlanta Falcons, Super Bowl XXXIII (1998); WR Ron Gardin (1968-69), Baltimore Colts, Super Bowl V (1970)*.

Arizona Wildcats All-Super Bowl Team: Defense

Defensive unit comprised of former Arizona Wildcats who went on to play in the Super Bowl (*Denotes Super Bowl win):
Pos.PlayerUANFL teamSuper Bowl
DEBrooks Reed2007-10Atlanta FalconsLI (2016)
DTEarl Mitchell2006-09San Francisco 49ersLIV (2019)
DTJoe Salave'a1994-97Tennessee TitansXXXIV (1999)
DEJoe Tafoya1997-2000Seattle SeahawksXL (2005)
LBTedy Bruschi1992-95New England PatriotsXXXI (1996)
New England PatriotsXXXVI (2001)*
New England PatriotsXXXVIII (2003)*
New England PatriotsXXXIX (2004)*
New England PatriotsXLII (2007)
LBRicky Hunley1980-83Denver BroncosXXI (1986)
Denver BroncosXXII (1987)
LBLance Briggs1999-2002Chicago BearsXLI (2006)
LBAntonio Pierce1999-2000New York GiantsXLII (2007)*
CBJackie Wallace1970-72Minnesota VikingsVIII (1973)
L.A. RamsXIV (1979)
SRandy Robbins1980-83Denver BroncosXXI (1986)
Denver BroncosXXII (1987)
Denver BroncosXXIV (1989)
CBChris McAlister1996-98Baltimore RavensXXXV (2000)*
PJosh Miller1990-92New England PatriotsXXXIX (2004)*

HONORABLE MENTION: LB Marquis Flowers (2010-13), New England Patriots, Super Bowl LII (2017); CB Michael Johnson (2005-06), New York Giants, Super Bowl XLII (2007)*; DT Brad Henke (1987-88), Denver Broncos, Super Bowl XXIV (1989); P Mitch Hoopes (1973-74), Dallas Cowboys, Super Bowl X (1975).

FOLLOW @JAVIERJMORALES ON TWITTER! publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He is a former Arizona Daily Star beat reporter for the Arizona basketball team, including when the Wildcats won the 1996-97 NCAA title. He has also written articles for, Bleacher Report, Lindy’s Sports,, The Arizona Republic, Sporting News and Baseball America, among many other publications. He has also authored the book “The Highest Form of Living”, which is available at Amazon.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top