Arizona Women's Basketball

WNBA general managers project Aari McDonald to earn Rookie of the Year

Aari McDonald’s WNBA debut is Friday night (Atlanta Dream photo)

The WNBA basically polled itself, seeking input from the league’s general managers, on different topics with the season opening and they voted on who they believe will win Rookie of Year.

Their selection: Arizona’s Aari McDonald of the Atlanta Dream, who open their season Friday against the visiting Connecticut Sun. The game begins at 4:30 p.m. Tucson time and can be viewed on Twitter.

Here are the results of their vote:

Who will win Rookie of the Year?

1. Aari McDonald, Atlanta Dream – 25%
T-2. Charli Collier, Dallas Wings; Awak Kuier, Dallas Wings; Michaela Onyenwere, New York Liberty – 17%
T-5. DiJonai Carrington, Connecticut Sun, Kysre Gondrezick, Indiana Fever; Jasmine Walker, Los Angeles Sparks – 8%

McDonald, a 5-foot-6 playmaker who led the Wildcats to their first NCAA title appearance was a No. 3 selection overall in the first round by Atlanta on April 15.

The Associated Press conducted a similar poll of 15 sportswriters who cover the WNBA and Collier, the No. 1 overall draft pick, edged McDonald for the preseason rookie of the year.

FOLLOW @JAVIERJMORALES ON TWITTER! publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner. He is a former Arizona Daily Star beat reporter for the Arizona basketball team, including when the Wildcats won the 1996-97 NCAA title. He has also written articles for, Bleacher Report, Lindy’s Sports,, The Arizona Republic, Sporting News and Baseball America, among many other publications. He has also authored the book “The Highest Form of Living”, which is available at Amazon. He became an educator five years ago and is presently a special education teacher at Gallego Fine Arts Intermediate in the Sunnyside Unified School District

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top