Ironwood Ridge standout Brasen Briones wins state championship

Brasen Briones (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)




Brasen Briones, Ironwood Ridge 138 -8

Carlos Astiazaran, Salpointe 146 E

Finn Meister, Catalina Foothills 149

Jake Myre, Sabino 149

Wyatt Charnoki, Sabino 155

Luis Lopez, Sahuarita 156

Beckett Carlson, Canyon del Oro 158

Jackson Rustand, Sabino 161

Drew Bowers, Ironwood Ridge 162

Tyler Tosca, Catalina Foothills 163

Chase Pickering, Salpointe 165

Jacob Medina, Ironwood Ridge 166

Joey Herron, Sabino 166

Spencer Chan, Catalina Foothills 167

Jayden Schmitz, Catalina Foothills 168

Zander Los, Ironwood Ridge 169

Griffin Wedman, Sabino 181

Jens Benedict, Catalina Foothills 184

Diego Medina, Nogales 185

David Busse, Sabino 185

Andrew Namanny, Salpointe 188
DNS: Austin Rabenneck/Luke Sadalla, Catalina Foothills 87/95
DNS: Nikolaus Lima/Carter Callahan, Salpointe 100/98

Medalists from right to left. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


5. Ironwood Ridge 630

8. Salpointe 654

9. Sabino 655

10. Catalina Foothills 660



1939 Charles Lamb, Tucson (5A)
1939 Charles Brown, Tucson (5A)
1940 Lyle Ostron, Tucson (5A)
1941 John Rudolph, Tucson (5A)
1950 Jim Warren. Tucson (5A)
1958 Bob Goana, Tucson (5A)
1959 Tom Fink, Tucson (5A)
1964 Bruce Balcom, Palo Verde (5A)
1965 Ken Engle, Rincon (5A)
1968 Mark Udall, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1974 Scott Spence, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1975 Ron Venkus, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1976 Mike Miranda, San Manuel (4A)
1977 Mike Miranda, San Manuel (4A)
1977 Dave DeSantis, Sahuaro (5A)
1978 Don Agers, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1978 Willie Wood, Sabino (5A)
1979 Willie Wood, Sabino (5A)
1979 Tom DeWitt, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1979 Mike Johnson, Sahuarita (3A)
1980 John Buttery, Canyon del Oro (4A)
1980 Paul Kruse, Sahuarita (3A)
1983 Tom McCahn, Willcox (3A)
1984 Chris Fanning, Sahuarita (3A)
1984 John Rojahn, Sahuarita (3A)
1985 Sergio Ruiz. Nogales (4A)
1985 Chris Aune, San Manuel (3A)
1987 Robbie Carr, Sahuarita (3A)
1989 Brian Kontak, Sabino (4A)
1993 Andres Ramos, Rincon/UHS (4A)
1997 Tom Rasmussen, Rincon/UHS (4A)
1998 Tom Taylor. Sahuarita (3A)
2001 Ben Kern, Palo Verde (4A)
2005 Chase Hite, Sabino (4A-I)
2006 Armando Villarreal, Rincon/UHS (4A-I)
2007 Travis Graves, Canyon del Oro (4A-I)
2009 Bill Flower, Catalina Foothills (4A-I)
2009 Joe Ryan, Benson (1A-2A)
2010 Ian Patterson, Immaculate Heart (1A-2A)
2010 Gentry Hicks, Canyon del Oro (D-II)
2010 Colin McCarty, Buena (D-I)
2011 Jaime Waltmire, Canyon del Oro (D-II)
2012 Billy Comeaux, Sabino (D-II)
2014 Chris Meyers, Canyon del Oro (D-II)
2016 Gavin Cohen, Catalina Foothills (D-II)
2021 Brasen Briones, Ironwood Ridge (D-II)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee and he earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top