2023-24 Boys Soccer

Pusch Ridge earns first boys state soccer title with 3A championship over Gilbert Christian

Pusch Ridge celebrates its first boys soccer championship (PRCA photo)

No. 2 Pusch Ridge defeated No. 1 Gilbert Christian 2-1 on Saturday at Scottsdale Coronado High School to claim its first state championship in boys soccer.

Gilbert Christian (15-6) scored early on a goal by Kaleb Powell from 15 yards in traffic to lead 1-0.

Pusch Ridge (20-4) scored its first goal at the 29-minute mark on Kegan Dorschner’s 20-yard shot in traffic.

Less than a minute later, Collin Tompkins scored a goal to give Pusch Ridge its 2-1 lead.

“This is great. We have a core of seniors and we worked four years to get to this point. We are just excited they were able to finally get it,” Pusch Ridge coach Geoff Neale told AZPreps365.

The win for the Lions helped avenge a loss to Gilbert Christian in last year’s quarterfinals, when the Knights used penalty kicks to break a 1-1 tie to advance.

“It feels great. We’ve been unlucky in past playoff games, but this time we deserve it,” said Lions’ goalie Brandon Rhodes told AZPreps365. “(Last year’s loss) was on all of our minds coming in, but we just blocked it out and took care of business.”


Salpointe (10)
1985: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
1986: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
1996: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
2004: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
2012: D-II (Wolfgang Weber)
2013: D-II (Wolfgang Weber)
2019: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)
2021: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)
2022: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)
2023: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)

Catalina Foothills (4)
2001: 4A (Julie Walters)
2006: 4A-I (Julie Walters)
2008: 4A-I (Julie Walters)
2011: 4A-I (Julie Walters)

Rincon/UHS (3)
1997: 4A (Roxanne Taylor)
1998: 4A (Roxanne Taylor)
2007: 4A-I (Roxanne Taylor)

Canyon del Oro (2)
2009: 4A-I (Josh Marshall)
2010: 4A-I (Josh Marshall)

Desert Christian (2)
1996: 1A-3A (Dave Defer)
1997: 1A-3A (John O’Hair)

Douglas (2)
2006: 4A-II (Ken Cormier)
2009: 4A-II (Ken Cormier)

Sabino (2)
1995: 4A (Ron Fox)
2005: 4A (Jon Pearlman)

2006: 1A-3A (Jim Howe)

Mountain View
2007: 5A-II (Mike Corbus)

2016: D-IV (Francisco Urtuzuastegui)

Pusch Ridge
2024: 3A (Geoff Neale)

Rio Rico
2007: 4A-II (Dagoberto Lopez)

1988: 5A (James Bishop)

2019: 5A (Casey O’Brien)

Tucson High
2014: D-II (Ismael Arce)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top