Arizona Basketball

Solomon Hill becomes 12th Arizona player since 1978-79 to be chosen all-conference first team in multiple years


[table “” not found /]

Years in bold signifies conference player of the year.
Solomon Hill leads Arizona with a .610 productivity ratingl

Solomon Hill joins an elite list of multiple all-conference selections since 1978-79

Arizona seniors Mark Lyons and Solomon Hill were both selected today to the All-Pac-12 which is determined by the league’s coaches. It is the 19th time since Arizona joined the Pac-10 in 1978-79 that the Wildcats have had two or more first-team all-league picks in the same season.

The other Wildcats honored were center Kaleb Tarczewski being named honorable mention for the conference’s All-Freshman Team and sophomore guard Nick Johnson being an honorable-mention selection for the All-Defensive Team.

This is Hill’s second straight first-team all-conference selection. He is the 12th Arizona player to earn multiple all-conference first-team selections since Arizona joined the Pac-10 in 1978-79.

The number should really be 13 with the addition of Mike Bibby, who was not chosen to the All-Pac-10 first team but was selected Freshman of the Year during the UA’s national championship season of 1996-97. Bibby was a first-team selection and the conference’s Player of the Year the following season.

The same situation happened with Sean Elliott, Salim Stoudamire and Chase Budinger — all Freshman of the Year selections who were not all-conference first-team members the same year.

One impressive note for UA coach Sean Miller‘s development of players: The last three seniors chosen to the all-conference first team were not selected to the all-freshman team when they were freshmen, including Hill. The other two are Nic Wise in 2010 (Miller’s first year at Arizona) and Kyle Fogg last season.

The last UA senior to be selected to the all-conference first team three seasons after claiming a spot on the all-freshman team was Hassan Adams in 2005-06. A contributing factor is players leaving early for the NBA such as Andre Iguodala, Marcus Williams, Jerryd Bayless, Chase Budinger and Derrick Williams.

Mustafa Shakur, who recently returned from Italy to play in the NBA’s D-League, was an all-conference honorable-mention selection as a senior after earning a spot on the all-freshman team.

Hill is averaging 13.6 points and 5.2 rebounds per game. He has scored in double figures a team-leading 24 times, posted three 20-point games and collected one double-double.

Nick Johnson followed his all-freshman selection in the Pac-12 with an honorable mention selection this season

Nick Johnson followed his all-freshman selection in the Pac-12 with an honorable mention selection this season

Lyons, a transfer from Xavier, was chosen to the first team despite slumping in the last two weeks of the regular season. He leads the Wildcats with 14.9 points a game and posted six 20-point games. He is also shooting 85 percent from the free-throw line.

His performances earlier in the season at ASU on Jan. 29 and against Stanford at McKale Center were indicative of his importance to the Wildcats’ success.

Johnson averages 2.0 steals per game in 30 appearances. He currently ranks fourth in the conference in steals and has tallied three or more steals 11 times. He led Arizona 17 times in steals during the regular season.

Tarczewski, a 7-foot, 255-pound post player, leads Arizona with a 5.9 rebounds per game average to go with a 6.6 points per game average and 20 blocked shots. In 30 appearances (all starts), he is shooting .526 from the field and leads the team with 65 offensive rebounds.

Arizona Pac-10/Pac-12 Honors (1978-2013)

Pac-10/Pac-12 Conference Coach of the Year
1986 Lute Olson
1987 Lute Olson
1989 Lute Olson
1993 Lute Olson
1994 Lute Olson
1998 Lute Olson
2003 Lute Olson (co-selection)
2011 Sean Miller

Pac-10/Pac-12 Conference Player of the Year
1987-88 Sean Elliott
1988-89 Sean Elliott
1992-93 Chris Mills
1994-95 Damon Stoudamire (co)
1997-98 Mike Bibby
1998-99 Jason Terry
2010-11 Derrick Williams

Pacific-10 Conference Freshman of the Year
1985-86 Sean Elliott
1996-97 Mike Bibby
1998-99 Michael Wright
2001-02 Salim Stoudamire
2006-07 Chase Budinger
2009-10 Derrick Williams

All-Pac-10 and All-Pac-12 Conference
1978-79: Larry Demic, C; Joe Nehls, G (2nd); Russell Brown, G (hm)
1979-80 Joe Nehls, G
1980-81 Ron Davis, G
1981-82 Frank Smith, F (hm)
1983-84 Pete Williams, C
1984-85 Pete Williams, C; Eddie Smith, F; Brock Brunkhorst, G (hm)
1985-86 Steve Kerr, G
1986-87 Sean Elliott, F
1987-88 Sean Elliott, F; Steve Kerr, G; Anthony Cook, C
1988-89 Sean Elliott, F; Anthony Cook, C
1989-90 Jud Buechler, F
1990-91 Brian Williams, F
1991-92 Chris Mills, F; Sean Rooks, C
1992-93 Chris Mills, F; Damon Stoudamire, G
1993-94 Khalid Reeves, G; Damon Stoudamire, G
1994-95 Damon Stoudamire, G; Ray Owes, F; Joseph Blair, C (hm)
1995-96 Ben Davis, F/C; Reggie Geary, G; Miles Simon, G (hm)
1996-97 Michael Dickerson, F; Mike Bibby (hm); Miles Simon (hm)
1997-98 Mike Bibby, G; Michael Dickerson, F; Miles Simon, G
1998-99 Jason Terry, G; A.J. Bramlett, C; Michael Wright, F
1999-2000 Michael Wright, F; Loren Woods, C; Jason Gardner, G; Gilbert Arenas, G (hm)
2000-01 Gilbert Arenas, G; Michael Wright, F
2001-02 Jason Gardner, G; Luke Walton, F
2002-03 Jason Gardner, G; Luke Walton, F
2003-04 Channing Frye, C; Andre Iguodala, F; Hassan Adams, F (hm); Salim Stoudamire, G, (hm)
2004-05 Channing Frye, C; Salim Stoudamire, G; Hassan Adams, G (hm)
2005-06 Hassan Adams, G; Ivan Radenovic, F (hm)
2006-07 Marcus Williams, F; Ivan Radenovic, F (hm); Mustafa Shakur, G (hm)
2007-08 Jerryd Bayless, G (2nd); Chase Budinger, F (3rd); Jordan Hill, F (hm)
2008-09 Chase Budinger, F (1st); Jordan Hill, F (1st); Nic Wise, G (2nd)
2009-10 Nic Wise, G (1st); Derrick Williams, F (1st)
2010-11 Derrick Williams, F (1st); Lamont Jones, G (hm)
2011-12 Kyle Fogg, G (1st); Solomon Hill, F (1st)
2012-13 Solomon Hill, F (1st); Mark Lyons, G (1st)

Pac-10/Pac-12 Conference All-Freshman
1981-82 Brock Brunkhorst, G
1983-84 Michael Tait, G
1985-86 Sean Elliott, F
1988-89 Sean Rooks, C; Matt Othick, G
1990-91 Khalid Reeves, G
1991-92 Damon Stoudamire, G
1994-95 Miles Simon, G (hm)
1995-96 A.J. Bramlett, F (hm); Jason Terry, G (hm)
1996-97 Mike Bibby, G
1998-99 Micheal Wright, F; Richard Jefferson, F; Ruben Douglas, G (hm)
1999-2000 Jason Gardner, G; Gilbert Arenas, G; Luke Walton, F (hm)
2001-02 Salim Stoudamire, G; Channing Frye, C
2002-03 Hassan Adams, G; Andre Iguodala, F
2003-04 Mustafa Shakur, G; Ivan Radenovic, F (hm)
2005-06 Marcus Williams, F
2006-07 Chase Budinger, F
2007-08 Jerryd Bayless, G
2008-09 Kyle Fogg, G (hm)
2009-10 Derrick Williams, F
2010-11 Jordin Mayes, G (hm)
2011-12 Nick Johnson, G; Josiah Turner, G (hm)
2012-13 Kaleb Tarczewski, C (hm)

Site publisher, writer and editor Javier Morales is a former Arizona Press Club award winner


To Top