WRESTLING: Roman Bravo-Young finishes his career undefeated; Sunnyside wins 31st title


Roman Bravo-Young (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

Sunnyside cruised to a 193 to 164 victory over Yuma Cibola Friday night in Prescott Valley to capture the 31st state wrestling team championship in school history but that wasn’t the only the only milestone of the night for the Blue Devils. Senior standout Roman Bravo-Young won his fourth straight championship which made him the 31st wrestler from the state Arizona to complete that feat. But that’s not all.

Bravo-Young entered the Division I state championships on Friday with a perfect 178-0 record and he won all four of his bouts to finish on Saturday night with an incredible 182 straight wins with no losses. Former Deer Valley standout Jacob Swift set the previous unbeaten mark of 179 in 2016 and former Morenci standout Waldo Gutierrez is third on the list with 178….

MORE AT AZPreps365com

Marcus Castillo (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


Sunnyside (31)
1979: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1981: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1982: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1983: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1984: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1985: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1986: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1987: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1988: 5A (Don Klostreich)
1990: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
1991: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
1992: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
1993: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
1994: 4A (Richard Sanchez)
1996: 5A (Bobby DeBerry)
1998: 5A (Bobby DeBerry)
1999: 5A (Bobby DeBerry)
2000: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2001: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2002: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2003: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2004: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2005: 4A (Bobby DeBerry)
2006: 5A-II (Bobby DeBerry)
2007: 5A-II (Bobby DeBerry)
2008: 5A-II (Bobby DeBerry)
2009: 5A-II (Bobby DeBerry)
2010: 5A-II (Bobby DeBerry)
2011: D-I (Bobby DeBerry)
2013: D-I (Anthony Leon)
2018: D-I (Anthony Leon)

Santa Cruz (5)
1977: 3A (Jay Denton)
1978: 3A (Steve Combs)
1979: 3A (Steve Combs)
1991: 1A/2A (Jay Denton)
1995: 3A (Jay Denton)

Benson (4)
1983: 1A/2A (Fred Comaduran)
1989: 1A/2A (Fred Comaduran)
1993: 1A/2A (Fred Comaduran)
1994: 1A/2A (Fred Comaduran)

Flowing Wells (4)
1978: 4A (Dave Thomas)
1979: 4A (Dave Thomas)
1980: 4A (Dave Thomas)
1994: 4A (Dave Thomas)

Ironwood Ridge (4)
2011: D-II (Tim Berrier)
2012: D-II (Tim Berrier)
2013: D-II (Tim Berrier)
2016: D-I (Tim Berrier)

Desert View (3)
1987: 4A (Chris Antoniotti)
1988: 4A (Chris Antoniotti)
1989: 4A (Chris Antoniotti)

Pueblo (2)
1992: 5A (John Mulay)
2008: 4A-I (Steve Lopez)

San Manuel (2)
2002: 1A/2A (Manny Yubeta)
2004: 1A/2A (Manny Yubeta)
Cienega (1)

2009: 4A-I (Marty Niblo)

Marana (1)
1983: 4A (Bob Newman)

Mountain View (1)
2017: D-II (PJ Ponce)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at AMoralesMyTucson@yahoo.com

To Top