Wrestling: Sunnyside wins Mile High Challenge plus Middle School results

(Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)

Prescott Valley: Jan. 3-4

Southern Arizona dominated in Prescott Valley as Sunnyside collected four individual titles in Prescott Valley to win Mile High Challenge over Mountain View Marana 288.5 to 214.5. Ironwood Ridge took third with 182 points, Santa Cruz came in fourth with 178 and Cienega had 166.5 to finish in fifth place…



Mile High Girls – 101
3rd Place Match
Tatiana Hernandez (Sunnyside) won by fall over Mariel Rodriguez (Combs) (Fall 2:21)

Mile High Girls – 110
3rd Place Match
Sophia Gilbert (Canyon del Oro) won by fall over Raquel Nowakowski (Raymond Kellis) (Fall 5:35)

Mile High Girls – 118
3rd Place Match
Alannah Rogers (Willow Canyon) won by decision over Destany Ornelas (Marana) (Dec 8-4)

Mile High Girls – 130
1st Place Match
Mylei Seigla (Canyon del Oro) won by fall over Rowen Wolfe (Mingus) (Fall 1:24)

Mile High Girls – 160
3rd Place Match
Trinity Tompkins (Chino Valley) won by fall over Briannay Galbez (Sunnyside) (Fall 2:47)

Mile High Middle School Challenge


1 Grindhouse Wrestling Club 239.0
2 Eloy Blue Devils 131.5
6 Tucson Cyclones 93.0
8 Marana Wrestling Club 76.5
12 Sunnyside Wrestling Academy 64.0
25 Lauffer Middle School 22.0
27 Vail Wrestling Academy 20.0
30 Tucson Badgers 16.0


Jr. High/ Middle School – 63
4th Place – Adam Belloc of Eloy Blue Devils

Jr. High/ Middle School – 68
1st Place – Owen Proper of Marana Wrestling Club
Owen Proper (Marana Wrestling Club) won by decision over Gavin McCall (Round Valley) (Dec 4-0)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 78
3rd Place – Marcus Killgore of Tucson Cyclones

Marcus Killgore (Tucson Cyclones) won by decision over Deion Zamora (Humboldt) (Dec 4-3)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 83
1st Place – Xavier Chavez of Eloy Blue Devils

Xavier Chavez (Eloy Blue Devils) won by decision over Evan Soliz (Valiant College Preparatory) (Dec 8-3)

3rd Place – Daniel Guerrero of Tucson Cyclones

Daniel Guerrero (Tucson Cyclones) won by decision over Kaleb Cruz (Grindhouse Wrestling Club) (Dec 2-0)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 88
4th Place – Aidan Belloc of Eloy Blue Devils

Jr. High/ Middle School – 93
1st Place – Audrey Jimenez of Sunnyside Wrestling Academy
2nd Place – Angel Serrano of Lauffer Middle School

Audrey Jimenez (Sunnyside Wrestling Academy) won by decision over Angel Serrano (Lauffer Middle School) (Dec 4-0)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 98
Guaranteed Places
2nd Place – Carlitos Stanton of Tucson Cyclones

3rd Place – Dominic Padilla of Marana Wrestling Club
4th Place – Cesar Vasquez of Sunnyside Wrestling Academy

Dominic Padilla (Marana Wrestling Club) won by fall over Cesar Vasquez (Sunnyside Wrestling Academy) (Fall 1:29)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 104
2nd Place – Curtis Chase of Vail Wrestling Academy

Jr. High/ Middle School – 111
3rd Place – Sergio Vega of Tucson Cyclones

Sergio Vega (Tucson Cyclones) won by major decision over Sinjon Allen (Casteel colts) (Maj 11-0)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 118
4th Place – Robert Ibarra of Eloy Blue Devils

Jr. High/ Middle School – 125
1st Place – Isreal Ibarra of Eloy Blue Devils

Isreal Ibarra (Eloy Blue Devils) won by decision over Troy Kinlicheenie (Painted Desert Wrestling Club) (Dec 9-2)

Jr. High/ Middle School – 142
1st Place – Nicholas Pina of Sunnyside Wrestling Academy

Nicholas Pina (Sunnyside Wrestling Academy) won by decision over Charles Fitzgerald (Predator wrestling club) (Dec 5-0)

4th Place – Maxwell Graham of Tucson Cyclones

Jr. High/ Middle School – 167
1st Place – Aidan Ysaguirre of Eloy Blue Devils

Aidan Ysaguirre (Eloy Blue Devils) won by decision over Pono Ah Quin (Sabercat Wrestling Club) (Dec 5-1)

Jr. High/ Middle School – HWT
3rd Place – Sergio Miranda of Tucson Badgers

Sergio Miranda (Tucson Badgers) won by decision over Dax Monestime (Predator wrestling club) (Dec 7-4)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

To Top