Tucson Mayor Regina Romero Proclaimed August 23 FC Tucson Women’s Day; Former Arizona Standout Laura Pimienta Leads List of WPSL Recognitions

Head coach Kelly Pierce holding the Proclamation along with members of her staff and players. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

The list of Women’s Premier Soccer League (WPSL) recognitions for FC Tucson Women continues to grow with former Mountain View and University of Arizona standout Laura Pimienta earning her third straight All-Conference nod as a defender. One of the original athletes in the program dating back to 2013, Pimienta was joined by Kourtney Kutscher on the All-Desert Conference Team as a midfielder and Ashly Martinez as a forward.

Head coach Kelly Pierce was recognized by the Tucson City Council on Tuesday and Mayor Regina Romero proclaimed August 23 FC Tucson Women’s Day. Several members of the team were on hand including family and community members. As a player, Pierce became the first and only member in program history to be named All-WPSL in 2014.


Laura Pimienta (Arizona), All-Desert Conference
Kourtney Kutscher (Cal State Northridge), All-Desert Conference
Ashly Martinez (Arizona Western), All-Desert Conference

FC Tucson Women: Franchise of the Year
Kelly Pierce (Salpointe), Desert Conference Coach of the Year
Luz Duarte (Catalina/Pueblo), All-Desert Conference
Luz Duarte (Catalina/Pueblo), Offensive Player of the Year
Laura Pimienta (Arizona), All-Desert Conference
Laura Pimienta (Arizona), Defender of the Year
Priscilla Pimienta (Arizona), All-Desert Conference

FC Tucson Women: Franchise of the Year
Kelly Pierce (Salpointe), Pac South Coach of the Year
Laura Pimienta (Arizona), All-Pac South Conference

FC Tucson Women: Franchise of the Year
Amy Garelick, Pac South Coach of the Year
Lainey Burdett (Arizona), All-Pac South Conference
Brooke Denesik (Texas Tech), All-Pac South Conference
Brianna Barreiro, (UTEP), All-Pac South Conference

Amy Garelick, WPSL Honorable Mention Coach of the Year
Amy Garelick, Big Sky-North Division Coach of the Year
Kelly Pierce (Salpointe), All-Western Conference
Kelly Pierce (Salpointe), All-WPSL Team
Kelly Pierce (Salpointe), Pacific South All-Star
Kaitlyn Lopez (Arizona), All-Western Conference
Karli Hedlund (Arizona), All-Western Conference
Chandler Morris (ASU), All-Western Conference

NOTE: AllSportsTucson is a proud financial sponsor of FC Tucson Women.


Named one of “Arizona’s Heart & Sol” by KOLD and Casino del Sol, Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and a 2019 AZ Education News recognition. He was a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling and his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is a Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. He earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater and he was recognized by the Sunnyside School District and by Tucson City Councilman Richard Fimbres. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top