Sun Belt College League Championship plus League Stat Leaders

Boom (13-5) will face Team Tucson (11-7) Friday night at Kino Stadium to decide the championship of the Sun Belt College League. Both teams are riding a 5-1 record over the last six games of the league and a possible shot at the National Baseball Congress (NBC) World Series is on the line for the team that can win one more.

Game time is set for 7 p.m. There is a clear bag policy in the main stadium.

Former Sahuarita standout Brendon Rodriguez (Cochise Stars) came up with the rare Triple Crown Championship for the league with 6 home runs, 27 RBI and a .456 batting average.

Boom 8, Cochise Stars 7 (11)
Team Tucson 11, Kings 1

Team Tucson vs. Boom, 7 p.m.

Ruben Lerma, Coach
Luis R Valenzuela, Coach
Manny Bustamante, Assistant Coach
Gerardo Lerma, Assistant Coach
Marcel Bachelier
Brayden Benavides
Gabe Benavides
Mikael Bracamonte
Sean Bracamonte
Alex Bustamante
Jose Cabanillas
Dante DeNiro
David Diaz
Justin Felix
Cristobal Flores Murrieta
Najee Gaskins
Kevin Jimenez
Gerardo Lerma
Mark Lopez
Rafael Padilla
Tyler Porter
Manuel Ramirez
Paulo Rodriguez
Sherrick Sanborn
Michael Santorelli
AJ Van Bogaert
Winston Welch

Carlo Colombino, Coach
Gilbert De La Vara, Coach
Devin Veal, Coach
Antonio Fernandez, Assistant Coach
Ryan Biad
Ismael Carrillo
Anthony Colombino
Dillon Cook
Jarrod Corona
Ryon Craig
Joseph Dicochea
Antonio Fernandez
Alex Goodman
Matthew Hackman
Kamden Kautz
Carlos Mada
Izaiah Madrid
Jose Martinez
Andy Morales
Josh Reyes
Brian Romero
Gabriel Rosthenhausler
Juan Pablo Ruedaflores
Stevie Ruelas
Saul Suazo
JC Velasco
Tyler Wiltshire


9: Boom
8: Kings
7: Cochise Stars
4: Team Tucson

6: Brendon Rodriguez, Cochise Stars
2: Sean Bracamonte, Boom
2: Aloysius Cruz, Kings
2: Joseph Escarcega, Kings
2: Matthew Hackman, Team Tucson
2: Tyler Porter, Boom
1: 14 players

27: Brendon Rodriguez, Cochise Stars
24: Matthew Hackman, Team Tucson
19: Sam Kalberer, Tucson Champs
19: Winston Welch, Boom
18; Brian Romero, Team Tucson
17: Rafael Padilla, Boom
17: JC Velasco, Team Tucson
16: Angel Faras, Knights
16: Marcus Catalano, Kings
16: Dante DeNiro, Boom

.456: Brendon Rodriguez, Cochise Stars
.439: Angel Faras, Knights
.438: Jacob Federico, Tucson Champs
.390: Rafael Padilla, Boom
.371: Matthew Hackman, Team Tucson
.368: Marcus Catalano, Kings
.362: Richard Martinez, Cochise Stars
.360: Ismael Carrillo, Team Tucson
.358: Saul Suazo, Team Tucson
.351: Anthony Colombino, Team Tucson

61: Ryon Craig, Team Tucson
47: Ivan Murillo, Javelinas
46: Devon Pilgrim, Javelinas
39: Kamden Kautz, Team Tucson
39: Ernesto Romero, Kings
35: Trevelle Hill, Kings
34: Sherrick Sanborn, Boom
33: Tyler Gray, Knights
33: Austin Grijalva, Cochise Stars
32: Cayden Ayala, Javelinas
32: Andrew Hill, Tucson Champs


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top