Cameron Williams named APS Player of the Week; Bourguet 5th on Passing List; Ed Doherty Watch List; Tucson Top 10

Cameron Williams. (Submitted Photo)


Sahuaro senior Cameron Williams rushed for 205 yards and two touchdowns to help lead the Sabercats past Sabino, 34-7, on Friday night. In addition, the LB/HB collected 10 tackles.

For his efforts, Williams earns the Tucson Conquistadores and APS Digital Player of the Week honors for Week Three. Williams will receive his award on Wednesday.


The Ed Doherty Award Watch List will be released on Tuesday and Salpointe’s Bijan Robinson, Mario Padilla and Lathan Ransom is sure to be on the initial list along with Terrell Hayward of Cienega, Trenton Bourguet of Marana and Zachary Eidenschink and Stevie Rocker of Canyon del Oro. The Ed Doherty Award recognizes the top football player in all of Arizona.

Bourguet moved up to fifth on the Tucson Career Passing list with 5,929 yards thrown. Number four on the list is former Tucson Christian standout Brian Chason with 6,408.

Tucson Career Passing Leaders
Rhett Rodriguez, Catalina Foothills 8,694 (2013-16)
Andrew Cota, Sunnyside/Salpointe, 7,554 (2010-13)
Reggie Robertson, Sahuaro 7,106 (1996-99)
Brian Chason, Tucson Christian: 6,408 (1982-85)
Trenton Bourguet, Marana: 5,929 (2015-present)
Adriell Alvarado, Cienega: 5,910 (2012-15)
Adam Rodriguez, Desert View: 5,774 (1985-89)
Justice Summerset, Mountain View: 5,264 (2013-15)

Salpointe’s Mario Padilla. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


Tyler Wilridge, Tombstone: 17 rushes for 249 yards, 4 TDs.
Stevie Rocker, Canyon del Oro, 16-225 yards, 3 TDs.
Christian Estrella, Douglas: 19-208.
Cameron Williams, Sahuaro: 22-205, 2 TDs.
Wyatt Jeffries, Empire: 30-206, 2 TDs.
Bijan Robinson, Salpointe: 27-187, TD.
Nathan Grijalva, Ironwood Ridge: 23-147, TD.
Chris Giarraputo, Sahuarita: 5-124.
Abrien Painter, Sahuaro: 10-106, TD.
Sebastian Tramutolo, Bisbee: 10-106, 2 TDs.
Manny Mejia, Douglas: 11-106.
Mario Padilla, Salpointe: 10-93, 3 TDs.
Kareem Swailem, Catalina Foothills, 13-91, 2 TDs.

Trenton Bourguet, Marana: 23-30, 264 yards, 2 TDs.
Zachary Eidenschink, Canyon del Oro: 10-14, 258, 4 TDs.
Will Wright, Bisbee: 13-16, 232, 2 TDs.
Luis Morales, Cienega: 11-16, 223 yards, 3 TDs
Hayden Parson, Mountain View: 12-27, 188, TD.
Orlando Williams, Sahuarita: 8-12, 126, 2 TDs.

Dano Lopez, Bisbee: 10-157, 2 TDs.
Jose Cruz, Canyon del Oro: 6-148, 2 TDs.
Terrell Hayward, Cienega: 6-128, TD.
Isaiah Roebuck, Marana: 8-116, TD
Andrew Cook, Ironwood Ridge: 4-95, 2 TDs.
Caleb McRae, Mountain View: 3-81, TD.
Diego Miranda, Marana: 7-78, TD

Mario Padilla, Salpointe: 2 interceptions, 9 tackles.
Lathan Ransom, Salpointe: 2 interceptions, 7 tackles.
Damion Wright, Sahuaro: 2 interceptions.
Sebastian Tramutolo, Bisbee: 18 tackles.
Caleb McRae, Mountain View: 15 tackles.
Ryan Edsall, Bisbee: 14 tackles.
Michael Molio’o, Sahuarita: 14 tackles
David Paquette, Sahuaro: 14 tackles.
Kai Walsh, Mountain View: 13 tackles.
D’Marco Chavez, Bisbee: 12 tackles.
Bobby Heizinger, Catalina Foothills: 12 tackles.
Kareem Swailem, Catalina Foothills: 12 tackles.
Richie Pina, Sabino: 11 tackles.
Gabe Aguiar, Sabino: 10 tackles.
Jakob Goerke, Sahuaro: 10 tackles.
Beto Regalado, Bisbee: 10 tackles.
Trent Strong, Salpointe: 10 tackles.
Cameron Williams, 10 tackles.
Hilario Ortiz, Nogales: 9 tackles
Gabriel Elias, Sahuarita: 3 sacks.


1: Salpointe (2-0)
2: Marana (3-0)
3: Tucson (3-0)
4: Cienega (2-0)
5: Sahuaro (2-1)
6: Ironwood Ridge (1-1)
7: Flowing Wells (2-1)
8: Canyon del Oro (1-1)
9: Douglas (3-0)
10: Buena (1-1)


6A North (1-2) at 6A TUCSON (3-0)
5A MARANA (3-0) at 5A Desert View (1-1)
5A Cienega (2-0) at 5A CENTENNIAL (2-0)
5A IRONWOOD RIDGE (1-1) at 5A Campo Verde (3-0)
5A Mountain View (0-2) at 5A CASTEEL (2-1)
5A Empire (0-2) at 5A BUENA (1-1)
5A FLOWING WELLS (2-1) at 4A Amphitheater (1-2)
5A NOGALES (1-1) at 4A Rio Rico (1-2)
5A RINCON/UHS (0-2) at 3A Tanque Verde (0-2)
5A Del Valle, TX (1-1) at 4A SALPOINTE (2-0)
4A PUEBLO (0-2) at 5A Cholla (0-2)
4A CASA GRANDE (3-0) at 4A Walden Grove (1-1)
4A SAHUARO (2-1) at 4A Marcos de Niza (0-2)
4A CANYON DEL ORO (1-1) at 3A Pusch Ridge (1-1)
4A CATALINA FOOTHILLS (1-2) at 3A Sabino (0-2)
3A Catalina (1-1) at 4A DOUGLAS (3-0)
3A Coolidge (3-0) at 3A SAHUARITA (2-0)
2A WILLCOX (2-0) at 2A Morenci (2-1)
2A Antelope Union (3-0) at 2A TOMBSTONE (2-0)
2A BISBEE (1-1) at 2A Miami (1-1)
2A Santa Rita (0-2) at 2A BENSON (1-1)
1A Anthem Prep (0-2) at 1A ST. DAVID (3-0)
1A Valley Union (0-3) at 1A MOGOLLON (2-0)
1A Baboquivari (1-2) at 1A HAYDEN (1-1)
1A BOWIE/SAN SIMON (0-2) at 1A Phoenix DSD (0-3)
5A Sunnyside BYE (2-1)
4A Palo Verde BYE (1-2)
2A Santa Cruz BYE (1-2)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at AMoralesMyTucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top