Basketball Playoffs: Sabino boys and girls in semifinal round


G Basketball Semifinals (3A)
No. 1 Sabino vs. No. 5 Ganado at Veterans, 6 p.m.

Sabino: Championship 1990 (John Bart)
Sabino: Runner-up 1983 and 1984 (John Bart)

B Basketball Semifinals (3A)
No. 5 Sabino vs. No. 1 Page at Veterans, 7:30 p.m.

Sabino: Runner-up 1993 (Tim Demarchi)


B Basketball Championship (4A)
No. 2 Salpointe vs. No. 1 Peoria at Veterans, noon

Salpointe: Runner-up 2018 (Jim Reynolds)
Salpointe: Runner-up 2013 and 2017 (Brian Holstrom)
Salpointe: Runner-up 1997 and 1999 (Brian Peabody

G Basketball Championship (4A)
No. 3 Sahuaro vs. No.1 Seton Catholic at Veterans, 10 a.m.

Sahuaro Championship 1993 and 1998 (Jim Scott)
Sahuaro Runner-up 1999 and 2001 (Jim Scott)

G Basketball Championship (3A)
B Basketball Championship (3A)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top