Little League Baseball

Oro Valley overpowers Arcadia, advances in Majors state tourney winner’s bracket

Sito Graves continued his torrid hitting in the Arizona Little League Majors state tournament with a 4 for 4 performance with three RBIs in Oro Valley’s 12-5 win over Phoenix Arcadia on Saturday night.

Graves hit two doubles and a triple, and Evan Wheeler blasted his third home run in the two games Oro Valley has played in the tournament at the Tempe Sports Complex.

Oro Valley (6-0 including its run through the District 5 tournament) advances to the winner’s bracket semifinals where it will face Queen Creek at 6 p.m. on Tuesday. Queen Creek defeated Anthem High Desert 5-2 on Saturday.

Fabian Acuña also homered for Oro Valley against Arcadia, which means Oro Valley has five home runs through the first two games. Acuña was also the winning pitcher allowing only three hits and two earned runs in four innings while striking out six and walking one.

Lucas Anderson went 2 for 3 with a double and three RBIs as Oro Valley tallied 14 hits after amassing 18 in the opening-round winning game over Lake Havasu on Friday night.

Wheeler finished 2 for 3 with one run and two RBIs against Arcadia. He also pitched the last 1 1/3 innings and did not allow a hit while striking out four and walking one.

Daniel Armenta and Braden Arellano each also had two hits.

Majors (11-12)
Tempe Sports Complex

e-elimination bracket game

Saturday, July 17
G7: Oro Valley 12, Phoenix Arcadia 5
G8: Queen Creek 5, Anthem High Desert 2
G9: Sunnyside 6, Mesa Red Mountain 5
G10: Chandler North 4, Goodyear 1
e-G11: Chino Valley 9, Globe Pinal Mountain 6
e-G12: Nogales def. Casa Grande

Sunday, July 18
e-G13: West Flagstaff vs. Anthem High Desert, 6 p.m.
e-G14: Lake Havasu vs. Mesa Red Mountain, 8 p.m.
e-G15: Chino Valley vs. Phoenix Arcadia, 8 p.m.
e-G16: Nogales vs. Goodyear, 6 p.m.

Tuesday, July 20
G17: Oro Valley vs. Queen Creek, 6 p.m.
G18: Sunnyside vs. Chandler North, 8 p.m.
e-G19: G13 winner vs. G15 winner, 8 p.m.
e-G20: G14 winner vs. G16 winner, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, July 21
e-G22: G20 winner vs. G17 loser, 8 p.m.
e-G23: G19 winner vs. G18 loser, 6 p.m.

Thursday, July 22
G21: G17 winner vs. G18 winner, 6 p.m.
e-G24: G22 winner vs. G23 winner, 8 p.m.

Friday, July 23
e-G25: G24 winner vs. G21 loser, 7 p.m.

Saturday, July 24
G26: Championship — G21 winner vs. G25 winner, 7 p.m.

To Top