Bill Bell, Tim Berrier, Robert DeBerry, Jay Denton and Dominick Cruz to be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Robert DeBerry. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

The National Wresting Hall of Fame Arizona Chapter Awards Banquet is set for November 21 at the Wild Horse Pass and Casino in Chandler and five members from Southern Arizona will be honored. Bill Bell, Tim Berrier, Robert DeBerry and Jay Denton will be entered in the Hall of Fame as coaches and former Flowing Wells standout Dominick Cruz will enter as an athlete.

Lifetime Service to Wrestling
Bill Bell, Palo Verde, Pueblo and St. Johns (1990 state championship)
Tim Berrier, Ironwood Ridge, Pueblo and Salpointe (425 wins/4 state championships)
Robert DeBerry, Canyon del Oro, Sunnyside, Tucson (481 wins/15 state championships)
Jay Denton, Santa Cruz (308 wins/3 state championships)

Outstanding American Citizen
Dominick Cruz, Flowing Wells

Tim Berrier. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019 and he is a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top