Mackenzie McRee wins her second championship and Ironwood Ridge brings home a record third team title in a row

Ironwood Ridge (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


Ironwood Ridge entered the final round of the 2021 Division II State Championship up by only one stroke over Section I rival Salpointe but the Nighthawks put together an incredible final day that saw the program finish ahead of the Lancers 573 to 588. The 1-under-par second round of 283, and the 15-stroke victory, helped the Nighthawks win their third state title in a row Tuesday at the Omni Tucson National.

Ironwood Ridge because the first team from Southern Arizona to win three titles in a row and only Central (1965-1967), Chaparral (1999-2002), Cactus Shadows (2016-2018) and numerous Xavier teams recorded state championship streaks of three or more in a row in the state. Xavier did it three times with championship streaks of 8, 12 and 16 in its history….




  1. Mackenzie McRee, Salpointe 138 -3
  2. Marley Moncada, Cienega 140 -1
  3. Susie Gietl, Salpointe 141 E
  4. Raina Ports, Ironwood Ridge 142
  5. Celia Schrecker, Ironwood Ridge 143
  6. Zoe Newell, Ironwood Ridge 143
  7. Lily Huether, Salpointe 145
  8. Hannah Ports, Ironwood Ridge 146
  9. Mia Cesarek, Catalina Foothills 149
  10. Makenna Brown, Ironwood Ridge, 151
  11. Zaida Wise, Sabino 151
  12. Akyra Kay, Salpointe 164
  13. Rylie Crane, Catalina Foothills, 166
  14. Jilliana Stopani, Cienega 169
  15. Gina Lee, Catalina Foothills 172
  16. Zufan Girard, Canyon del Oro 177
  17. Savannah Welch, Cienega 187
  18. Emarie Sooter, Sabino 189
  19. Rylee Koebnick, Sahuarita 200
  20. Samantha Smith, Cienega 202
  21. Gabrielle Matty, Catalina Foothills 207
  22. Ysabella Nugent, Cienega 214
  23. Amber Ortiz, Catalina Foothills 239
    DNS: Kalliyen Kay/Greta Johnson, Salpointe 89/99


  1. Ironwood Ridge 573 +5
  2. Salpointe 588
  3. Catalina Foothills 694
  4. Cienega 698
Mackenzie McRee. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

Mackenzie McRee became the fourth golfer from Southern Arizona to win two state titles:

1967 Carolyn Rapson, Rincon (5A)
1996 Tanja Arnold, Sabino (4A)
1997 Christina Baena, Canyon del Oro (5A)
2001 Nicole de Gennaro, Palo Verde (4A)
2002 Andrea Ratigan, Rincon/UHS (4A)
2003 Andrea Ratigan, Rincon/UHS (4A)

2009 Laura Jabczenski, Catalina Foothills (4A-I)
2010 Laura Jabczenski, Catalina Foothills (D-II)

2010 Jordan Carter, Cienega (D-II)
2011 Krystal Quihuis, Salpointe (D-II)
2012 Krystal Quihuis, Salpointe (D-II)

2015 Kathryn Ottman, Sahuaro (D-II)
2018 Mackenzie McRee, Salpointe (D-II)
2019 Maya Benita, Catalina Foothills (D-II)
2021 Mackenzie McRee, Salpointe (D-II)

Ironwood Ridge coach Doug Kautz is all alone with three state titles and he led the Nighthawks to a 45-0 record this year:


Catalina Foothills (4)
2004: 4A (Mark Polich)
2006: 4A (Mark Polich)
2009: 4A-II (Mark Polich)
2010: D-II (Mark Polich)

Ironwood Ridge (3)
2019: D-II (Doug Kautz)
2020: D-II (Doug Kautz)
2021: D-II (Doug Kautz)

Sahuaro (2)
2013: D-II (Megan Hughes)
2015: D-II (Megan Hughes)

Salpointe (2)
2011: D-II (Michele Murphy)
2012: D-II (Michele Murphy)

Salpointe. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee and he earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top