Arizona Football

TMac named finalist for Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year

University of Arizona wide receiver Tetairoa McMillan is catching on nationally … Literally and figuratively.

He has been selected as one of 14 candidates for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award as announced by the Maxwell Football Club.

McMillan leads the nation in receiving yards (532) and is tied for first in receiving touchdowns (6), and second in receiving yards per game (66.5) among true freshmen.

No. 4 Tetairoa McMillan (photo courtesy of Arizona Athletics)

The Servite High School product from Waimanalo, Hawai’i, has been named Pac-12 Freshman of the Week two times this season. The first honor was following a five-reception 90-yard performance against Colorado on Oct. 1, and the second weekly award was following a career-high seven-reception 132-receiving-yard two-touchdown effort at Washington on Oct. 15.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award has been presented to the College Freshman Player of the Year since 2018 and is named in honor of Shaun Alexander, a former standout at the University of Alabama and with the Seattle Seahawks in the NFL. The award’s Past winners include Trevor Lawrence (Clemson) – 2018, Kenneth Gainwell (Memphis)-2019, Will Anderson Jr. (Alabama) – 2020, and Brock Bowers (Georgia) – 2021.

Finalists for the 5th annual Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year award will be announced on December 6, 2022, and the award winner will be announced on December 29, 2022. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala in March of 2023.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top