William Bell Tournament

Stephanie van Latum (AllSportsTucson)


Started in 1971, the TUSD Wrestling Tournament became the William Bell Tournament in 1992 to honor the passing of former University of Arizona wrestler and longtime Sabino head coach William Bell (1976-1991) who died in 1991 at the age 41 while jogging at Udall Park. In addition, the top wrestler of the tournament is named after former Pueblo standout Danny Villa who was killed by a drunk driver in 1973 after winning a state championship in 1972. Hector A. Lopez and Manny Galvan were also injured by the driver and Galvan went on to a become longtime coach and educator at Pueblo.


Galvan was present at the 2022 William Bell Tournament that was held at Pueblo this past Friday and Saturday. He, along with former Pueblo state champion and current head coach Josiah Smith, were on hand to to award the 2022 Outstanding Wrestler recognition to Canyon del Oro junior Kayden Luke.

Luke (2-0) defeated Tucson senior Prince Gainous in a 3-1 decision to win the 215-pound weight class.

The Sahuarita boys took first place and Canyon del Oro took second. 12 champions were also awarded on the girl’s side and the top finishers are listed below:

Danny Villa and Manny Galvan. (The extensive photo collection located in the Pueblo Wrestling Room)


Sada Olguin (Tucson) 1-0, Jr. over Kamea Dahuya (Pueblo) 4-3, Fr. (Fall 1:44)

Jacianna Beltran (Sunnyside) 2-0, Fr. over Luciana Chavez (Canyon Del Oro) 1-1, Jr. (Dec 8-3)
Luciana Chavez (Canyon Del Oro) 1-1, Jr. over Ximena Hernandez-Romero (Rio Rico) 4-3, Jr. (Dec 8-1)
Jacianna Beltran (Sunnyside) 2-0, Fr. over Ximena Hernandez-Romero (Rio Rico) 4-3, Jr. (Fall 1:23)

1st Place Match
Adacelli Noriega (Bisbee) 2-0, Sr. over Miyah Palacios (Sahuarita) 4-1, Jr. (MD 9-0)
3rd Place Match
Sophia Renteria (Rio Rico) 9-1, Sr. over Hilaria Burruel (Sunnyside) 2-2, Sr. (Fall 0:12)

1st Place Match
Sophia Gilbert (Canyon Del Oro) 3-0, Sr. over Sarah Perez (Sahuarita) 5-1, So. (MD 13-1)
3rd Place Match
Bianca Cobo (Sunnyside H.S.) 3-1, So. over Karlie Schneider (Sahuaro) 1-3, Fr. (Dec 9-5)

Aysha General (Buena) 7-0, Jr. over Eunique Conchola-Salazar (Tucson) 2-2, (Fall 3:17)
Gabriella Gonzalez (Canyon Del Oro) 3-1, Fr. over Isela Villalobos (Sunnyside.) 0-4, Fr. (Fall 0:37)

Jessica Hidalgo (Amphitheater) 2-0, So. over Sophia Moreno (Canyon Del Oro) 0-2, Fr. (Fall 0:30)

Jade Armstrong (Sunnyside) 5-0, So. over Natalie Posada (Salpointe) 7-1, Sr. (Fall 5:25)

Dalien Duarte (Pueblo) 9-1, So. over Jenell Rodriguez (Sunnyside) 3-1, Jr. (Fall 0:57)

Emily Hibner (Salpointe) 6-0, Sr. over Dhelma Reino (Tucson) 2-1, (Dec 7-5)

Alezandra Robles (Sunnyside) 2-0, Fr. over Meredy Ladines (Palo Verde) 6-1, So. (Fall 0:48)

Davina Romero-Wilson (Rincon/UHS) 2-0, Sr. over Anahla Gosch (Tucson) 0-2, (Fall 5:32)

Jessence Octavio-Callejo (Rio Rico) 4-0, Fr.


Named one of “Arizona’s Heart & Sol” by KOLD and Casino del Sol, Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and a 2019 AZ Education News recognition. He was a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling and his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is a Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. He earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater and he was recognized by City Councilman Richard Fimbres. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top