Golf Preview: Finn Meister and Lily Huether lead the field; State playoffs move to the Aguila Golf Course

Finn Meister. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

Catalina Foothills junior Finn Meister returns after taking second place to former Salpointe standout Carlos Astiazaran in the Division II state championship and Salpointe senior Lily Huether look second place on the girl’s side.

The Ironwood Ridge boys won the D-II team title last year and the Salpointe girls took third place. Mica Mountain moved from Division III to D-II this fall and the Thunderbolts will field a boys team and a girls team.

The state championship moves from the Omni Tucson National to the Aguila Golf Course in Laveen. The Omni hosted all levels from 2017 and the Randolph Complex hosted from 2015 to 2016.


Riley Stidham, So. Marana
Jackson Rose, Jr. Marana
Francisco Felix, Sr. Tucson
David Martinez, Jr. Tucson
Alan Philemore, Jr. Desert View
Tobias Trejo, So. Rincon University
Jack Greene, Sr. Rincon University
Owen Proper, So. Marana
Orlando Rodriquez, Sr. Rincon University
Riley Erskine, Sr. Rincon University

Ella Walsh, Jr. Rincon University
Alexa Corona, Sr. Marana
Sienna Long, Jr. Marana
Kameran Coto, Sr. Marana
Charlotte Rodriguez, Sr. Tucson
Icela South, Jr. Tucson
Eleanore Juneman, So. Rincon University
Brooklynn Sandoval, Jr. Tucson
Eve Kpetehoto, Jr. Rincon University
Anika Galaz, Sr. Tucson

2022 State Finish: Ironwood Ridge (565), Notre Dame (579), Catalina Foothills (592)

Finn Meister, Jr. Catalina Foothills (2022 State Runner-Up)
Jayden Schmitz, Sr. Ironwood Ridge (2022 State Third Place)
Brasen Briones, Sr. Ironwood Ridge (2021 State Champion; 2022 State Third Place)
Jacob Medina, Sr. Ironwood Ridge
Chase Pickering, Jr. Sabino
Noah Castro, Jr. Rio Rico
Chase Cesarek, So. Catalina Foothills
Bryce Colby, Sr. Cienega
Wyatt Charnoki, Jr. Ironwood Ridge
Tyler Tosca, Jr. Catalina Foothills
Hudson Parker, So. Mica Mountain
Kason Shotwell, So. Cienega
Oliver de Guia, So. Catalina Foothills
Jaxon Pearson, So. Cienega
Ryan Schultz, Jr. Canyon del Oro
Colin Lynch, Sr. Mountain View
Austin Rabenneck, Sr. Catalina Foothills
David Dávila, Sr. Cienega
Sean Kelly, Jr. Ironwood Ridge
Jake Chen, So. Mica Mountain 3.85

2022 State Finish: Cactus Shadows (629), Casteel (630), Salpointe (655)

Lily Huether, Sr. Salpointe (2022 State Runner-Up Playoff Hole)
Lucy Newell, Jr. Ironwood Ridge
Zaida Wise, Jr. Sabino
Mallory McRee, So. Salpointe
Paola Guerrero, So. Sahuarita
Zufan Girard, Jr. Canyon del Oro
Madeline Decena, So. Canyon del Oro
Tyla Greenwood, So. Mica Mountain
Charlotte Schrecker, Sr. Ironwood Ridge
Abigail Gryzynger, So. Sabino
Jayden Nester, So. Catalina Foothills
Gina Lee, Sr. Catalina Foothills
Gertie Munoz, Sr. Flowing Wells
Greta Johnson, Jr. Salpointe
Gabrielle Matty, Jr. Catalina Foothills
Branaugh Stowell, Jr. Walden Grove
Jolene Munoz, Jr. Flowing Wells
Kennah Wujcik, So. Canyon del Oro
Sofia Strobel, So. Catalina Foothills
Kalliyen Kay, Jr. Salpointe


Named one of “Arizona’s Heart & Sol” by KOLD and Casino del Sol, Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and a 2019 AZ Education News recognition. He was a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling and his unique perspective can only be found here and on Andy is a Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. He earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater and he was recognized by City Councilman Richard Fimbres. Contact Andy Morales at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top