2023 High School Football

Marana’s Roebuck & Mica Mountain’s Leon earn Week 12 Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallion

Marana WR/DB Dezmen Roebuck (Marana photo)

Marana junior wide receiver/defensive back Dezmen Roebuck and Mica Mountain junior defensive end Jimmy Leon are recipients of Week 12 Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions, recognizing their outstanding performances last week and all season.

Roebuck had 12 receptions for 74 yards in a 46-0 win over Cienega, propelling the Tigers into the playoffs. He has 105 catches on the season for 1,260 yards and eight touchdowns this season. He now holds the Southern Arizona record, topping the previous record of 100 that was set by Calvin Dacus of Sahuaro in 1999. He is also only eight receptions away from reaching the state record of 113. Elijah Marks of Desert Edge set that record in 2013.


113 Elijah Marks, Desert Edge, 2013

112 John Leonard, Cactus Shadows, 2010

106 Carter Hancock, Higley, 2022

106 Grady Hickey, Chaparral, 2021

105 Dezmen Roebuck, Marana, 2023

Marana plays at AlA-Gilbert North in the first round of the 5A state tournament on Thursday night.

Leon had seven tackles and two sacks in a 28-21 win over Catalina Foothills. He finished the regular season leading the 4A in sacks with 17.

The nominees will be presented a medallion at their respective school this week and are now in the running for the 2023 Ed Doherty Award, annually recognizing Arizona’s most outstanding high school football player.

This year’s winner will be announced at a special luncheon on Dec. 9. For more information on the award or to purchase tickets to the ceremony, please visit www.azsportsent.com or call 480-517-9700.

Mica Mountain junior defensive end Jimmy Leon (Gilbert Alcaraz/Special to AllSportsTucson.com)

Previous Southern Arizona Ed Doherty Award Nominees


WR/LB Nathan Spivey, Jr., Salpointe

Spivey had four catches for 75 yards and a touchdown along with five tackles and an interception.

Salpointe’s Nathan Spivey (Gilbert Alcaraz/Special to AllSportsTucson.com)

DE Elijah Rushing, Sr., Salpointe

Rushing, considered the nation’s top-ranked Class of 2024 edge rusher, Rushing had five quarterback hurries, a sack and five tackles in a victory over Scottsdale. He has 10 sacks, one of top marks in Southern Arizona.

Salpointe defensive end Elijah Rushing (Salpointe photo)


RB Mike Casillas, Sr., Morenci

Casillas ran for 100 yards and a touchdown on 22 carries in a 31-28 victory over visiting Sabino. He is one of the top 15 rushers in the state’s history.

Morenci running back Mike Casillas (Morenci photo)

RB/LB Gavin Gilbert, Sr., Tanque Verde

Gilbert rushed for 206 yards and two touchdowns on 22 carries, while recording 10 tackles (seven solo) and one sack, in a 30-3 road win against Glendale Prep.

Tanque Verde senior RB Gavin Gilbert (Tanque Verde photo)


QB Gabriel Smith, Sr., Walden Grove

Smith became the Red Wolves’ career leading passer in a 42-7 victory over Pueblo. He was 12 of 17 for 297 yards with five touchdowns in the first half.

Walden Grove QB Gabriel Smith is the school’s top passer in history (Walden Grove photo)

RB Christian Carter, Sr., Thatcher

Carter gained 194 yards on 27 carries while scoring all five Eagle touchdowns in a 35-14 win over rival Safford.

Thatcher senior running back Christian Carter (D’Andre Davis/Special to AllSportsTucson.com)


QB Dominic Norris, Sr., Ironwood Ridge
Norris set the single-game passing record for a Southern Arizona high school quarterback with 502 yards, completing 23 of 41 passes with four touchdowns in a 37-22 win over Tucson.

Ironwood Ridge QB Dominic Norris (Chris Hook/MaxPreps photo)


LB/RB Carlos Montoya Jr., Jr., Walden Grove
In a 35-21 win over Mountain View, Montoya had nine solo tackles (21 total with three tackles for loss) and a blocked extra-point attempt. He also rushed for 27 yards on three carries.

Carlos Montoya Jr. of Walden Grove


RB Kason Colbert, Sr., Mica Mountain

Colbert rushed 12 times for 246 yards and three touchdowns in Mica Mountain’s 42-27 win over Casa Grande to remain undefeated (5-0).

Kason Colbert of Mica Mountain (D’Andre Davis/Special to AllSportsTucson.com)


WR Shamar Berryhill, Jr., Sabino

Berryhill had 11 catches for 241 yards and four touchdowns in the win over Safford.

QB Cameron Hackworth, Sr., Sabino

Hackworth completed 29 of 38 passes for 453 yards and six touchdowns.

Sabino QB Cameron Hackworth and WR Shamar Berryhill have connected for 628 yards and 10 touchdowns through the first five regular-season games (Sabino photo)


RB Kayden Luke, Sr. CDO
Luke rushed for 241 yards and three touchdowns on just 12 carries in a 50-20 win over Desert View.

CDO running back Kayden Luke (Lexie Fegan/Special to AllSportsTucson.com)

About the Ed Doherty Award
Since its inception in 1987, the Ed Doherty Award has served as the State of Arizona’s highest individual high school football honor, annually recognizing the most outstanding player on and off the field. Recipients are selected for demonstrating athletic excellence and unwavering integrity, along with a commitment to academics, community, and school pride.
About the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club
The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is the most meaningful advocate of high school football in the State of Arizona. Its mission is to represent Arizona amateur athletics by bringing national attention to the extraordinary qualities of young people in their pursuit of athletic achievement, academic advancement, and greater social affinity.
About the Arizona Sports & Entertainment Commission
The Arizona Sports & Entertainment Commission (ASEC) is a non-profit organization created in 1988. The Commission collaborates with hundreds of partners to help fulfill the mission of bringing national and international sporting events to the state; assisting in the promotion of existing events and Arizona sports teams; providing volunteer recruitment and organization for large-scale sporting events; and developing youth sports programs. In 2009, it assumed oversight of the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame, and in 2012, the Grand Canyon State Games and the Lori Piestewa National Native American Games. The ASEC was the founding organization and owner of the 2015 NOVA Home Loans Arizona Bowl. For more information on the Commission, call 480-517-9700 or visit www.azsportsent.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top