2023 High School Football

Ed Doherty: Arizona commits Adam Mohammed, Demond Williams and Brandon Phelps finish in the top five; 14 from Southern Arizona recognized

Adam Mohammed, Brandon Phelps and Demond Williams Jr. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

Liberty standout QB Navi Bruzon was named the 2023 Ed Doherty Award winner Saturday afternoon in Scottsdale. Bruzon led Liberty to the Open Division championship.

Three University of Arizona commits were included in the top five chosen by the selection committee that includes myself and my brother Javier Morales, the only voters from the Tucson area. Basha QB Demond Williams, Jr., Apollo RB Adam Mohammed and ALA-Gilbert North receiver Brandon Phelps were the three Wildcat commits on the stage.

Canyon del Oro RB Kayden Luke, who led the Dorados to a 4SA state title while finishing as the top rusher in the state and Sabino QB Cameron Hackworth, who led the Sabercats to a 3A state title while setting the top career throwing mark for Southern Arizona were in the next group of finalists.

Gage Baker, QB Paradise Honors (uncommitted)
Navi Bruzon, QB Liberty (uncommitted)
Adam Mohammed, RB Apollo (Arizona)
Brandon Phelps, WR ALA-Gilbert North (Arizona)
Demond Williams Jr. QB Basha (Arizona)

Kayden Luke, Gabe Smith, Gavin Gilbert and Carlos Montoya (Luke Photo)

Shamar Berryhill, Sabino
Christian Carter, Thatcher
Michael Casillas, Morenci
Kason Colbert , Mica Mountain
Gavin Gilbert, Tanque Verde
Cameron Hackworth, Sabino
Jimmy Leon, Mica Mountain
Kayden Luke, Canyon del Oro
Carlos Montoya, Walden Grove
Dominic Norris, Ironwood Ridge
Dezmen Roebuck, Marana
Elijah Rushing, Salpointe
Gabe Smith, Walden Grove
Nathan Spivey, Salpointe

(Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top