Arizona Athletics

Arizona Sports Hall of Fame 2024 class includes CDO grad Fowler, Iguodala & Terry

Arizona graphic

The Arizona athletic department announced Thursday that seven standout athletes, along with one long-time and valued former head team physician, will be honored with induction into the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2024 class combined to achieve nearly 25 All-America selections, 12 NCAA national championships, double-digit all-conference selections and numerous other honors.

Arizona Sports Hall of Fame, Class of 2024

  • Kenzie Fowler; Arizona softball student-athlete, 2009-14
  • Andre Iguodala; Arizona men’s basketball student-athlete, 2002-04
  • Lawi Lalang; Arizona track & field (2010-14) and cross country (2011-13) student-athlete
  • Julie LaBonte; Arizona track & tield student-athlete, 2009-14
  • Dr. Donald Porter; Arizona head team physician, 1989-2022
  • Bob Ralston; Arizona baseball student-athlete, 1982-84
  • Nick Ross; Arizona track & field student-athlete, 2009-14
  • Jason Terry; Arizona men’s basketball student-athlete, 1995-99

The 2024 class will be officially inducted into the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa on Friday, Aug. 30. Registration and reception will begin at 5:00 p.m., with the dinner and ceremony set to kick off at 6:00 p.m. Tickets are available now for $75 per person or $750 per table of 10 and can be purchased here.

Fowler, one of the most accomplished pitchers in Arizona softball history, was a two-time NFCA All-American, a two-time All-Pac-10 selection, and a 2010 USA Softball Player of the Year finalist during her time with the Wildcats. The Tucson native ranks among the top 10 pitchers in program history with 87 wins, 857 strikeouts, and four solo no-hitters. Her perfect game against Oregon State in April 2010 remains one of just nine thrown in Arizona softball history. Since hanging up her cleats, Fowler has launched a career in the Arizona Athletics Creative Services department, while also serving as an analyst for Pac-12 Networks and ESPN broadcasts of softball games.

Iguodala, a four-time NBA Champion with the Golden State Warriors, launched his career with an All-America campaign at Arizona in 2003-04. During his one season in a Wildcat uniform he was an AP All-American, All-Pac-10 selection, USBWA and NABC All-District player, and Pac-10 All-Freshman team honoree. Iguodala remains second in program history with three triple-doubles, and previously earned an induction into the Arizona Men’s Basketball Ring of Honor. Over the course of a 19-year NBA career he scored nearly 14,000 points, hauled in over 6,000 rebounds, dished out over 5,000 assists, earned two All-Defensive Team selections, and picked up one NBA Finals MVP nod.

Lalang, a two-sport standout while with the Wildcats, earned a total of eight NCAA National Championships and a pair of Division I Indoor National Men’s Track Athlete of the Year awards to highlight a remarkable career. Lalang was a two-time Pac-10 Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year, a six-time conference champion, a three-time MPSF champion, and the 2014 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Medal recipient. These are just a few of the numerous awards, honors, and achievement Lalang earned during his illustrious collegiate career.

LaBonte is another member of the 2024 class with multiple NCAA National Championships to their name, having hauled in both the indoor and outdoor shot put titles in 2011. LaBonte was a three-time NCAA Indoor All-American, five-time NCAA Outdoor All-American, four-time Pac-10/12 champion, and an eight-time All-Pac-10/12 selection. To this day, her career-best shot put and discus marks stand as the third- and fourth-longest throws in program history, respectively. During her Arizona career LaBonte also competed in the 2012 Olympics, representing Canada.

Porter, a trailblazing and outstanding medical professional, served as the Head Team Physician at the University for 32-plus years. Dr. Porter covered every sport and thousands of student-athletes over the course of his career — all but one member of the 2024 Arizona Sports Hall of Fame class would have benefited from his world-class medical care and relationship building skills. He oversaw all head team physicians, assistant team physicians, and surgical consultants during his tenure.

Ralston, a First Team All-American in 1984, was a two-time team batting champion and two-time First Team All-Pac-10 South honoree. After pacing the Wildcats with an eye-popping .336 batting average in 1983 he stepped up his game and once again led the program in 1984 with a blistering .363 average. Following his outstanding Arizona career, Ralston was selected by the Minnesota Twins in the sixth round of the 1984 MLB Draft.

Ross, the third Arizona Track & Field representative on this year’s Arizona Sports Hall of Fame class, was a nine-time All-American and highlighted an impressive career with a 2012 NCAA National Championship. Ross dominated his time in the Pac-10/12, winning three conference championships, a pair of Pac-12 Men’s Field Athlete of the Year awards, and the 2010 Pac-10 Newcomer/Freshman of the Year award. He remains the Arizona program record holder in the high jump, while his long jump and triple jump marks are both top 10 all-time.

Terry, a vital member of the Arizona Men’s Basketball 1997 National Championship team, earns HOF honors after pulling in Ring of Honor recognition and having his number go down as one of six recognized in program history. The 1997 National Player of the Year was also a multiple-time All-American and the 1998-99 Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year. Terry was selected by the Atlanta Hawks with the 10th overall pick in the 1999 NBA Draft and went on to enjoy a 19-year NBA career. His professional career was highlighted by a 2011 NBA Championship with the Dallas Mavericks.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top