HISTORY: Southern Arizona Girls State Soccer Championships


Carey Bauer (Andy Morales/

Carey Bauer (Andy Morales/

Championships began in 1990.

Charlie Kendrick has won more championships than any other coach in the history of girls soccer in Arizona. No other coach from Southern Arizona has more than one championship.


Catalina Foothills (8)
2003: 4A (Christie Monroe)
2005: 4A (Charlie Kendrick)
2006: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2007: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2010: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2011: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2012: D-II (Charlie Kendrick)
2013: D-II (Charlie Kendrick)

Salpointe (4)
1990: 5A (Matt Panitinto)
1992: 5A (Julian Friend)
1998: 5A (Jill McCartney)
1999: 5A (Alisha Kientzler)

Flowing Wells (2)
2007: 5A-II (Chris Nogami)
2009: 4A-I (Sean Ochoa)

Sabino (2)
1996: 4A (Alisha Kientzler)
2008: 4A-I (Brenda Lowery)

Canyon del Oro (1)
1997: 5A (Albert Durazo)

Mountain View (1)
1995: 4A (Cynthia Saldamando)

Rincon/UHS (1)
2008: 5A-II (Ian Kidd)

Walden Grove (1)
2015: D-III (Carey Bauer)

Discuss this post in our Talk of Tucson Message Board

Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here, on and on the pages of the Vail Voice and the Tanque Verde Voice. Contact Andy Morales at


To Top