Sun Belt College League

Sun Belt College League All Star Game was full of Fireworks

Fabian Ferreira picked up the walk off RBI for Team Sonora. (Andy Morales/

Sun Belt College League All Star Game: Thursday, July 4: Kino Stadium


Team Sonora beat Team Kino 3-2 in dramatic fashion to capture the championship of the Sun Belt College League All-Star Game held at Kino Stadium Thursday night. Over 50 athletes from the summer league battled to a 2-2 tie in front of a capacity crowd and it came down to one pitch.

Ryan Grabosch singled from the right side in the bottom of the fourth and he connected on a hit from the left side of the plate with one out in the bottom of the seventh to give Sonora a shot before the real fireworks were scheduled to go off.

Aaron Gardner followed with a single and Grabosch moved over to third base. Fabian Ferreira came up and he came through with a sacrifice fly to right field to score Grabosch and the Sonora bench emptied and drenched Ferreira.

The former Tucson High and Pima catcher signed with New Mexico Highlands over the summer.

Team Sonora (Andy Morales/

Trey Meza picked up the win for Sonora with Adam Moraga, Alex Philips, Tyler Gray, Caden Ayala, Branden Hance and Ben Tighe all seeing action on the mound. Mason Millett, Michael Romero, Angel Castillo, Jayse Burkett, Eli Madrid, Chris Dunn, Sherrick Sanborn and Michael Corral got the ball for Kino.

Team Kino (

Jacob Jacome, Joseph Escarcega and Alex Bustamante hit doubles for Kino and Angel Ochoa, Jake Lialios, Cameron Kroeger, Marcus Mendez and Robert Valenzuela picked up hits. Valenzuela had an RBI and Bustamante stole home on a double steal. Mendez scored the second run.

For Sonora, Preston Clifford hit a double and Kiko Romero, Nate Baez and Gardner had singles and Grabosch had his two hits. Ferreira had two RBIs, Grabosch scored twice and Gardner picked up the other run.

The regular season continues on Monday night.


6: Alvaro Barnett, Rincon Knights, Park University (Rio Rico)
15: Jayse Burkett, Rincon Knights, Adams State (Benson)
33: Alex Bustamante, Aztecs, Pima CC (Canyon del Oro)
20: Derrick Calvillo, Cochise Stars, Hibbing CC (Canyon del Oro)
18: Angel Castillo, Aztecs, Pima CC (Sunnyside)
16: Michael Corral, Aztecs, Pima CC (Tucson)
20: Chris Dunn, Aztecs, UNLV (Nevada)
16: Joseph Escarcega, Old Pueblo Kings, NM Highlands (Sunnyside)
31: Saul Escarrega, Aztecs, Pima CC (Sunnyside)
24: Ivan Gallego, Rincon Knights, Luna College (Desert View)
2: Daniel Gonzalez, Cochise Stars, St. Mary’s (Tombstone)
22: Sean Hahn, Cochise Stars, Phoenix CC (Valley Union)
6: Jacob Jacome, Aztecs, New Mexico Highlands (New Mexico)
10: Cameron Kroeger, Old Pueblo Kings, St. Michael’s (Vermont)
27: Jake Lialios, Old Pueblo Kings, Pomona College (Sabino)
24: Eli Madrid, Eli, Cochise Stars (Willcox)
13: Marcus Mendez, Cochise Stars, Stephen F. Austin (Desert View)
3: Andres Mendoza, Aztecs, Pima CC (Desert View)
19: Mason Millett, Aztecs, Pima CC (Boulder Creek)
9: Angel Ochoa, Aztecs, Pima CC (Canyon del Oro)
7: Ajay Ram, Aztecs, Pima CC (Ironwood Ridge)
5: Michael Romero, Old Pueblo Kings (Catalina)
28: Sherrick Sanborn, Cochise Stars, Adams State (Willcox)
4: Gilbert Valenzuela, Cochise Stars, Friends University (Buena)
11: Robert Valenzuela, Cochise Stars, Friends University (Buena)
20: Alfredo Villa, Old Pueblo Kings, Adams State (Rincon/UHS)

Michael Odum, Sr., Aztecs: Manager
Brian Alday, Old Pueblo Kings: Coach
Richard Delahanty, Old Pueblo Kings: Coach
Martin Pereyda, Old Pueblo Kings: Coach
Sati Santa Cruz, Cochise Stars: Coach
Pepe Valencia, Aztecs: Coach
Gilbert Valenzuela, Cochise Stars: Coach


14: Alec Acevedo, Team Tucson, Yavapai CC (Nogales)
15: Caden Ayala, Team Tucson, Pima CC (Benson)
6: Nate Baez, Tucson Champs, ASU (Ironwood Ridge)
10: Jorge Bojorquez, BNL Rockets, Sacramento State (Nogales)
23: Preston Clifford, BNL Rockets, New Mexico State (Sabino)
11: Parker Colett, Rincon Knights, Williston State (Nevada)
8: Jose Contreras, Tucson Champs, Pima CC (Tucson)
1: Fabian Ferreira, Tucson Champs, NM Highlands (Tucson)
26: Aaron Gardner, Team Tucson, Kansas Wesleyan (Rincon/UHS)
29: Ryan Grabosch, BNL Rockets, Central Arizona CC (Salpointe)
50: Tyler Gray, Tucson Champs, Rainy River (Empire)
12: Matthew Hackman, Team Tucson, Air Force (Empire)
19: Branden Hance, Team Tucson, Trinity University (Salpointe)
12: Ricky Martinez, Tucson Champs, Paradise Valley CC (Tucson)
21: Trey Meza, BNL Rockets, Cochise College (Sahuarita)
1: Adam Moraga, BNL Rockets, Science Arts of Oklahoma (Sunnyside)
25: Luis Morales, Luis, Team Tucson (Cienega)
15: Marco Ozuna, BNL Rockets, Cochise College (Vista Grande)
5: Alex Phillips, Team Tucson, Concordia Univ. (Catalina)
4: Kiko Romero, BNL Rockets, Central Arizona CC (Canyon del Oro)
11: Luis Samorano, Tucson Champs, Pima CC (Tucson)
19: Raul Soto-Romero, Tucson Champs, Western Oregon (Tucson)
21: Saul Suazo, Team Tucson, US Marine Corps (Sunnyside)
3: Ben Tighe, Rincon Knights, Williston State (Canada)
9: Manny Villa, Manny, Tucson Champs, Arizona Christian (Salpointe)
24: Tyler Whiltshire, BNL Rockets, Minot State (Sabino)

BJ Clifford, BJ, BNL Rockets: Manager
George Arias, George, Tucson Champs: Coach
Carlo Colombino, Team Tucson, Coach
Antonio Fernandez, Team Tucson, Coach
Ernie Meza, BNL Rockets, Coach
Auggie Romero, Tucson Champs, Coach


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014 and he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Contact Andy Morales at 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top