Sunnyside Boys & Salpointe Girls Win Brandon Bean Soccer Championships

Sunnyside (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson.com)


Angelina Amparano was tested. Three times.

The Salpointe senior was named Keeper of the Brandon Bean Classic after the Lancers defeated Cienega 3-1 in PKs to win the tournament championship Saturday night. That win came after the Lancers defeated Sahuaro in PKs (4-3) in the quarterfinal round and then Catalina Foothills in PKs (4-2) in the semifinals played on Friday.

In all, the Lancers went 6-0 at the classic heading into regular season play, coincidentally at Cienega (5-1) next Tuesday. The Bobcats were also impressive at the classic, outscoring their opponents 21-1 heading into the final with the load of the scoring coming from senior Haley Harris.

Harris scored against the Lancers to give the midfielder seven goals on the year including a hat trick against Empire earlier in the week. Harris was named Field Player of the Classic for her efforts.

Kyleigh Oliver placed a goal for the Lancers and the two teams played through overtime tied 1-1. Maci Bernier put Salpointe up 1-0 in the PK round and then Anissa Fernandez put the Lancers up 2-0 after a Bobcat miss. Amparano came up with a stop but Peyton Middleton put one through in the next round to cut the Salpointe lead down to 2-1. Then, Sophia Sethi found the net to give Salpointe the 3-1 victory.

The Sunnyside boys came into the Brandon Bean ranked No. 3 in the nation and the Blue Devils went 7-0 to capture the tournament championship for the second year in a row. The Blue Devils outscored their opponents 29-1 including a 2-0 win over Salpointe in the championship final.

Demille Flores put Sunnyside up 1-0 in the 12th minute and then Adrian Burruel-Valenzuela made it 2-0 before the half ended. That score held up the rest of the way. Julio Lerma earned the Field Player award for the Blue Devils and Tucson High standout Emiliano Andraux earned the best keeper award.

Sunnyside hosts Flowing Wells (1-3) in Tuesday. The Caballeros lost to Sunnyside 1-0 in pool play. Salpointe (5-2) will host Cienega (4-1) on the same night.

Demille Flores (Andy Morales/AZPreps365.com)


The Brandon Bean Classic is held every year to honor a former Salpointe player who passed away in 1992 after an on-field collision at a soccer scrimmage. In addition, the tournament also honors former Lancer Laura Kea who died in an auto accident on her way to a soccer tournament.


Group A: Flowing Wells, Sabino, Sahuarita, Salpointe, Sunnyside
Group B: Buena, Catalina Foothills, Douglas, Mountain View, Rincon/UHS
Group C: Ironwood Ridge, Sahuaro, Tucson, Vista Grande
Group D: Cienega, Empire, Pusch Ridge, Walden Grove

Group A: Sabino, Sahuarita, Salpointe, Sunnyside
Group B: Buena, Catalina Foothills, Mountain View, Rincon/UHS
Group C: Ironwood Ridge, Sahuaro, Tucson, Vista Grande
Group D: Cienega, Empire, Pusch Ridge, Walden Grove

Salpointe 11, Sabino 0 (B)
Salpointe 4, Sabino 0
Sunnyside 7, Sahuarita 0 (B)
Sahuarita 2, Sunnyside 0
Rincon/UHS 3, Mountain View 1 (B)
Rincon/UHS 2, Mountain View 2
Buena 3, Catalina Foothills 0 (B)
Catalina Foothills 2, Buena 0
Ironwood Ridge 4, Vista Grande 0 (B)
Ironwood Ridge 3, Vista Grande 0
Tucson 0, Sahuaro 0 (B)
Tucson 1, Sahuaro 1
Cienega 3, Walden Grove 2 (B)
Cienega 3, Walden Grove 1
Pusch Ridge 1, Empire 0 (B)
Empire 1, Pusch Ridge 0

Salpointe 2, Flowing Wells 1 (B)
Salpointe 3, Sahuarita 0
Sunnyside 8, Sabino 0 (B)
Sabino 6, Sunnyside 0
Douglas 3, Buena 0 (B)
Mountain View 3, Buena 3
Mountain View 0, Catalina Foothills 0 (B)
Rincon/UHS 2, Catalina Foothills 1
Tucson 8, Vista Grande 0 (B)
Tucson 6, Vista Grande 0
Sahuaro 2, Ironwood Ridge 1 (B)
Sahuaro 0, Ironwood Ridge 0
Cienega 2, Empire 0 (B)
Cienega 8, Empire 0
Walden Grove 7, Pusch Ridge 0 (B)
Walden Grove 2, Pusch Ridge 1

Tucson 5, Ironwood Ridge 0 (B)
Sahuaro 5, Vista Grande 0 (B)
Sahuarita 3, Flowing Wells 1 (B)
Buena 3, Mountain View 0 (B)
Sabino 2, Sahuarita 1
Rincon/UHS 3, Douglas 2 (B)
Rincon/UHS 4, Buena 1
Cienega 5, Pusch Ridge 1 (B)
Catalina Foothills 2, Mountain View 0
Walden Grove 2, Empire 0 (B)
Salpointe 9, Sunnyside 0
Sunnyside 5, Salpointe 1 (B)

Sahuarita 8, Sabino 0 (B)
Sunnyside 1, Flowing Wells 0 (B)
Douglas 3, Catalina Foothills 1 (B)
Rincon/UHS 1, Buena 0 (B)
Tucson 1, Ironwood Ridge 0
Flowing Wells 4, Sabino 1 (B)
Sahuaro 5, Vista Grande 0
Douglas 5, Mountain View 1 (B)
Cienega 6, Pusch Ridge 0
Salpointe 6, Sahuarita 0 (B)
Walden Grove 8, Empire 0
Catalina Foothills 4, Rincon/UHS 4 (B)



No. 1 Sunnyside 4, No. 8 Walden Grove 2
No. 2 Cienega over No. 7 Sahuaro 1-1 (PK 5-3)
No. 6 Salpointe 1, No. 3 Rincon/UHS 0
No. 4 Tucson 2, No. 5 Douglas 0

No. 1 Salpointe over No. 8 Sahuaro, 0-0 (PK 4-3)
No. 2 Cienega 3, No. 7 Sabino 0
No. 3 Tucson 3, No. 6 Walden Grove 0
No. 5 Catalina Foothills 1, No. 4 Rincon/UHS 0

No. 1 Sunnyside 2, No. 3 Tucson 0
No. 6 Salpointe 4, No. 2 Cienega 0

No. 1 Salpointe over No. 5 Catalina Foothills, 1-1 (PK 4-2)
No. 2 Cienega 1, No. 3 Tucson 0


No. 1 Salpointe over No. 2 Cienega, 1-1 (PK 3-1)

No. 1 Sunnyside 2, No. 6 Salpointe 0


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

To Top