Salpointe sweeps state soccer championships for the third time in four years

GILBERT – Salpointe Catholic swept through the state playoffs to bring home dual 4A state championships for both programs for the third time in four years but this year was a bit different with both squads winning on the same night, at the same place, and against the same opponent.

The Salpointe girls defeated Notre Dame Prep 4-4 (4-3) in the early game held at Williams Field High School in Gilbert Tuesday night and then the Lancer boys beat the Saints 3-1 in the late match. The two programs also won dual championships in 2019 and in 2021 but those were held on different nights and in different cities. How rare is a multiple program sweep in upper-division soccer? Catalina Foothills pulled it off in 2006 and in 2011. That’s it…



Salpointe (9)
1990: 5A (Matt Panitinto)
1992: 5A (Julian Friend)
1998: 5A (Jill McCartney)
1999: 5A (Alesha Kientzler)
2017: 4A (Becky Freeman)
2018: 4A (Kelly Pierce)
2019: 4A (Kelly Pierce)
2021: 4A (Kelly Pierce)
2022: 4A (Kelly Pierce)

Catalina Foothills (8)
2003: 4A (Christie Monroe)
2005: 4A (Charlie Kendrick)
2006: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2007: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2010: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2011: 4A-I (Charlie Kendrick)
2012: D-II (Charlie Kendrick)
2013: D-II (Charlie Kendrick)

Flowing Wells (2)
2007: 5A-II (Chris Nogami)
2009: 4A-I (Sean Ochoa)

Sabino (2)
1996: 4A (Alesha Kientzler)
2008: 4A-I (Brenda Lowery)

Canyon del Oro
1997: 5A (Albert Durazo)

Mountain View
1995: 4A (Cynthia Saldamando)

2008: 5A-II (Ian Kidd)

Walden Grove
2015: D-III (Carey Bauer)


Salpointe (9)
1985: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
1986: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
1996: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
2004: 5A (Wolfgang Weber)
2012: D-II (Wolfgang Weber)
2013: D-II (Wolfgang Weber)
2019: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)
2021: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)
2022: 4A (Wolfgang Weber)

Catalina Foothills (4)
2001: 4A (Julie Walters)
2006: 4A-I (Julie Walters)
2008: 4A-I (Julie Walters)
2011: 4A-I (Julie Walters)

Rincon/UHS (3)
1997: 4A (Roxanne Taylor)
1998: 4A (Roxanne Taylor)
2007: 4A-I (Roxanne Taylor)

Canyon del Oro (2)
2009: 4A-I (Josh Marshall)
2010: 4A-I (Josh Marshall)

Desert Christian (2)
1996: 1A-3A (Dave Defer)
1997: 1A-3A (John O’Hair)

Douglas (2)
2006: 4A-II (Ken Cormier)
2009: 4A-II (Ken Cormier)

Sabino (2)
1995: 4A (Ron Fox)
2005: 4A (Jon Pearlman)

2006: 1A-3A (Jim Howe)

Mountain View
2007: 5A-II (Mike Corbus)

2016: D-IV (Francisco Urtuzuastegui)

Rio Rico
2007: 4A-II (Dagoberto Lopez)

1988: 5A (James Bishop)

2019: 5A (Casey O’Brien)

Tucson High
2014: D-II (Ismael Arce)


Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017, a 2019 AZ Education News award winner and he has been a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling. His own children have won multiple state high school championships and were named to all-state teams. Competing in hockey, basketball, baseball and track & field in high school, his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is the Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee and he earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top