Sunnyside wins Flowing Wells Boy’s Invitational; Audrey Jimenez and Adacelli Noriega honored

Sunnyside (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


More free photos on our AllSportsTucson Facebook page.

After 56 years, the Flowing Wells Invitational is still one of the biggest in the Southwest. 80 teams (43 boys and 37 girls) with 603 wrestlers (428 boys and 175 girls) from 49 schools took part. 11 mats were used in two gyms and a few bouts were held outside on the tennis courts.

Sunnyside won the boys tournament and Liberty won the girls tournament. Sunnyside standout Audrey Jimenez won her third straight championship wrestling against boys (Mile High, Peoria and Flowing Wells) and she brought home the Most Outstanding Wrestler award for the third time. Desert Vista freshman sensation Everest Lydecker won the Most Outstanding Wrestler award on the girl’s side.

Bisbee standout Adacelli Noriega was named Most Inspirational Wrestler and she received a $500 scholarship. Legendary wrestling figure Alfredo Trejo was named Honorary Caballero for his contributions to the sport.

NEXT: The Salpointe Diego Gadea Invitational this coming Friday and Saturday.

Desert Vista freshman Everest Lydecker was named Most Outstanding Wrestler from the girl’s tournament and Sunnyside junior Audrey Jimenez was named Most Outstanding Wrestler from the boy’s tournament. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)
Bisbee senior Adacelli Noriega was named Most Inspirational Wrestler. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)
Flowing Wells athletic director Mark Brunenkant hands the Honorary Caballero award to legendary wrestling figure Alfredo Trejo. (Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)


1 Sunnyside 400.5
2 Liberty 235.5
3 Desert Vista 224
4 Canyon View 205.5
5 Ironwood 191
6 Kofa 164.5
7 Flowing Wells 150
8 Silver (NM) 141
9 Chandler 138
10 Walden Grove 134
11 Eastwood (TX) 126
12 Tucson 117.5
13 Canyon del Oro 113
14 Centennial 111
15 Chatfield 107
16 Mountain View Marana 105.5
17 Corona del Sol 101
18 Gila Ridge 94.5
19 Willcox 92
20 Ironwood Ridge 89
21 Chaparral 85
22 Prescott 81
23 Valley Vista 80.5
24 Marcos de Niza 79
25 Deming (NM) 77.5
26 Cienega 76
27 Globe 71
28 Yuma 66
29 Desert Mountain 62
29 Pueblo 62
31 Buckeye 47
32 Cobre 45
32 Desert View 45
34 Arcadia 42
35 Catalina Foothills 39
36 Rio Rico 35
37 Tolleson 33
38 Douglas 31
39 Buena 29
40 Amphitheater 22
41 Casa Grande 17
42 Nogales 6
43 Palo Verde 0


(All photos Andy Morales/AllSportsTucson)

1st Place Match
Audrey Jimenez (Sunnyside) 19-5, Sr. over Matthew Krawczenko (Liberty) 32-2, Fr. (Dec 4-1)

3rd Place Match
Noah Magana (Eastwood) 34-6, Jr. over Daniel Alire (Kofa) 30-6, So. (Dec 4-3)

5th Place Match
Brett Bates (Walden Grove) 41-4, Fr. over Michael Corrow (Flowing Wells) 28-6, Jr. (Dec 7-3)

1st Place Match
Gabriel Ramirez (Canyon View) 24-2, So. over Damian Moreno (Kofa) 32-5, Sr. (Dec 6-4)

3rd Place Match
Anthony Lopez (Ironwood) 29-4, Fr. over Sean Archuleta (Sunnyside) 19-8, Jr. (SV-1 3-1)

5th Place Match
Seferino de la Rosa (Flowing Wells) 26-5, Fr. over Samuel Smith (Chandler) 24-7, So. (MD 14-5)

1st Place Match
James Armstrong (Sunnyside) 27-4, Sr. over Travis Cardenas (Chandler) 28-1, Fr. (SV-1 10-8)

3rd Place Match
Clemente Delgado (Gila Ridge) 22-2, Sr. over Zachary Bates (Walden Grove) 41-4, Jr. (Dec 3-1)

5th Place Match
Giovanni Martinez Chavez (Canyon View) 20-5, Jr. over Jose Gael Moreno (Kofa) 23-9, So. (Dec 5-2)

1st Place Match
Sergio Vega (Sunnyside) 33-0, So. over Gabe Gonzales (Globe) 36-1, Sr. (Dec 10-3)

3rd Place Match
Julian Macias (Ironwood) 14-2, Fr. over Tyler Hamm (Corona del Sol) 26-9, Sr. (Fall 3:27)

5th Place Match
Andrew Ramirez (Canyon View) 19-6, Sr. over Brady Jones (Gila Ridge) 20-7, Sr. (Dec 2-1)

1st Place Match
Carlos Stanton (Sunnyside) 33-2, So. over Trebor Moreno (Eastwood) 25-2, Sr. (Dec 8-2)

3rd Place Match
Giosue Hickman (Canyon View) 21-4, Jr. over Logan Smith (Desert Vista) 30-5, Sr. (Dec 3-0)

5th Place Match
Sabian Russell (Yuma) 30-3, Sr. over Daniel Miranda (Mountain View – Marana) 36-3, Sr. (M. For.)

1st Place Match
Adyn Bostick (Sunnyside) 22-3, So. over Skyer Hickman (Canyon View) 24-3, Sr. (TB-1 3-2)

3rd Place Match
Elijah Molinar (Eastwood) 28-4, Jr. over Carter Holt (Desert Vista) 30-6, Sr. (Dec 6-4)

5th Place Match
Jaydon Aguilar (Gila Ridge) 21-4, Sr. over Kaleb Mendoza (Deming) 19-4, Jr. (Inj. 0:00)

1st Place Match
Cristian Rivera (Sunnyside) 18-3, Jr. over Enzo Morales (Walden Grove) 34-2, So. (Dec 3-0)

3rd Place Match
Damen Miller (Desert Vista) 31-4, Sr. over Jordan Beauvais (Ironwood) 31-7, Jr. (For.)

5th Place Match
Blake Sholl (Canyon del Oro) 18-5, Jr. over Landon Sandoval (Silver) 15-4, Jr. (Inj. 0:00)

1st Place Match
David Rodgers (Liberty) 28-5, Sr. over Edward Reyes (Valley Vista) 29-4, Sr. (Dec 12-6)

3rd Place Match
Niko Trujillo (Cobre) 21-2, Jr. over Arturo Anaya (Kofa) 31-4, Sr. (Dec 6-5)

5th Place Match
Victor Gonzales (Sunnyside) 23-10, Jr. over Xavier Lerma (Ironwood) 7-5, Jr. (SV-1 13-11)

1st Place Match
Job Lee (Sunnyside) 28-1, Sr. over Trent Wikel (Desert Mountain) 29-2, Sr. (Fall 2:34)

3rd Place Match
Pablo Macias (Ironwood) 33-4, Jr. over Dominik Fimbres (Canyon View) 23-6, Sr. (Dec 8-1)

5th Place Match
Jacob Rodgers (Liberty) 12-3, Fr. over David Hinojosa (Chandler) 23-7, Sr. (Dec 6-2)

1st Place Match
Mike Avelar (Sunnyside) 28-3, Sr. over Kash Macumber (Willcox) 36-1, Jr. (MD 16-5)

3rd Place Match
Luis Pichardo (Marcos de Niza) 32-6, Sr. over Adrian Parra (Flowing Wells) 37-4, Sr. (TF-1.5 4:34 (16-1))

5th Place Match
Gabriel Fuentes (Chandler) 27-4, Sr. over Noah O`Dougherty (Chatfield) 24-6, Jr. (Fall 0:46)

1st Place Match
James Ofeciar (Tucson Magnet) 27-5, Sr. over Gavin Aguirre (Silver) 17-1, Sr. (SV-1 7-2)

3rd Place Match
Connor Straessler (Desert Vista) 30-4, Sr. over Nicholas Pina (Sunnyside) 24-5, So. (Dec 3-1)

5th Place Match
RJ Robinson (Desert Mountain) 20-5, So. over Austin Brian (Liberty) 28-11, Sr. (Fall 1:59)

1st Place Match
Markell Rivera – Cain (Ironwood) 35-0, Sr. over Lucas Mata (Sunnyside) 21-8, Fr. (TF-1.5 5:43 (16-1))

3rd Place Match
Ethan Liese (Chaparral) 28-3, Sr. over Cody Hanna (Prescott) 30-4, Sr. (MD 12-2)

5th Place Match
Asher Villalpando (Canyon View) 17-5, Jr. over Mason Lockett (Silver) 12-8, Sr. (Dec 5-0)

1st Place Match
Kayden Luke (Canyon del Oro) 31-0, Jr. over Ed Tingle (Willcox) 36-1, Jr. (MD 11-2)

3rd Place Match
Landen Francis (Prescott) 23-4, Sr. over Hunter Wells (Liberty) 30-4, Sr. (Dec 6-2)

5th Place Match
James Ducomb (Arcadia) 23-6, Sr. over Raymond Aragon (Flowing Wells) 23-6, Sr. (MD 11-3)

1st Place Match
Anthony Ruiz (Liberty) 10-0, Sr. over Jacob Acedo (Mountain View – Marana) 36-1, Jr. (SV-1 3-1)

3rd Place Match
Jayden Denton (Desert Vista) 29-6, Sr. over Jesse Octavio-Callejo (Rio Rico) 30-5, Sr. (Fall 1:51)

5th Place Match
Jacob Halbison (Silver) 13-3, Sr. over Joseph Bowen (Yuma) 27-7, Sr. (Fall 0:32)


Named one of “Arizona’s Heart & Sol” by KOLD and Casino del Sol, Andy Morales was recognized by the AIA as the top high school reporter in 2014, he was awarded the Ray McNally Award in 2017 and a 2019 AZ Education News recognition. He was a youth, high school and college coach for over 30 years. He was the first in Arizona to write about high school beach volleyball and high school girls wrestling and his unique perspective can only be found here and on AZPreps365.com. Andy is a Southern Arizona voting member of the Ed Doherty Award, recognizing the top football player in Arizona, and he was named a Local Hero by the Tucson Weekly for 2016. Andy was named an Honorary Flowing Wells Caballero in 2019, became a member of the Sunnyside Los Mezquites Cross Country Hall of Fame in 2021 and he was a member of the Amphi COVID-19 Blue Ribbon Committee. He earned a Distinguished Service Award from Amphitheater and he was recognized by City Councilman Richard Fimbres. Contact Andy Morales at amoralesmytucson@yahoo.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
To Top